Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Reload Thread: Sundown X, technical question about output, cone area/excursion

TreyE is offline Lets Get Weird

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)

Sundown X, technical question about output, cone area/excursion

So I am no expert on this matter but I know I have read quite a few things that relate to how loud something will be based off the cone area but also taken into account is excursion etc etc etc a lot of **** I have no idea about. Lets count out "Its all in the enclosure mannn".

My question is, since the surround on the X is so large and the cone so small would output be sacrificed for excursion in this case, or would the excursion make up for the lessened cone area? I was thinking about getting a 12" but the cone looks so small im worried about output.

Would this be something I should be worried about?

Should I just save up and get the 15" instead if I want the same output as say another 12" (Sundown SA, HDC3, W7, RE MX)?

Any insight appreciated, not sure where to start.

Trey

Don't listen to me.

Feedback - http://www.caraudio.com/forums/buyer-seller-feedback/227670-treye.html
    Also more recent feedback on caco.com under same username and eBay as Willy8788 100% feedback.

sundownz is online now Supporting Vendor sundownz is a Supporting Member of the forum!

sundownz is a Supporting Vendor of the forum!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    93 Post(s)

3. Thanks TreyE thanked for this post

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)

Re: Sundown X, technical question about output, cone area/excursion

Quote Originally Posted by sundownz View Post
    The difference in cone area is ~10% and is a non-issue.
    So would that be considered 10% less output? AKA inaudible to our ears obviously. Im more interested in technicality of it all honestly lol