Closed Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 75

Reload Thread: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

  1. #31
    matt_bennett05's Avatar
    matt_bennett05 is offline mattchoo!



    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    South Westerly Georja
    Posts
    3,434
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Also, if you do find out that it was the amps all along, check your batts for dead cells If you can, load test yourself, or take to auto parts house and have them check it. Not supplying enough juice to an amp can kill it.



    D.D.Q.F.

    Traded with : norrizzle9, BassAddictJ (x2), TWiZTid859, btr, btdickey, mylows10, Sour_Deez, El_Weenie;
    Bought from : NeilBarber, kurtbeast, bubbagumper, cd6551,
    mistergrubbs, gbo559, ltr450racer690, nismos14, ptcmarty,




  2. #32
    DDtC's Avatar
    DDtC is offline High Output SQ



    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Va Beach, Va
    Age
    33
    Posts
    7,460
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by its10v1 View Post
    I'm realizing that more and more my friend. Thank you. :-)
    Its not just you. People recommend low end stuff everyday on here without looking at the big picture.



    • 2010 Scion tC
    • Pioneer DEH-80PRS
    • JL 450/4v2 Active (Mid range, tweeters) JL 300/2v2 (Mid bass) DD M4(Subs)
    • Hertz HV 165XL
    • Hertz HT28
    • JL ZR800
    • 2 x DD 9512i
    • Singer 300 amp 15.1v bypass, 3 XS D3400s
    • Viper 5701 with Smart Start

  3. #33
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_bennett05 View Post
    Also, if you do find out that it was the amps all along, check your batts for dead cells If you can, load test yourself, or take to auto parts house and have them check it. Not supplying enough juice to an amp can kill it.
    I'm thinking I'll head to Autozone (less than a mile from my house) to load test my battery.
    Quote Originally Posted by DCtC View Post
    Its not just you. People recommend low end stuff everyday on here without looking at the big picture.
    Seemingly it's a disease that spreads like rust..



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

  4. #34
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

    Icon14 Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    ***LOTS OF IMAGES***
    PHONES AND SLOW COMPUTERS BEWARE!!

    Fuse holder assembled


    Fuse connector #1 (Coming from power connection)
    Appears to have discoloration inside of it (that maroon-ish/purple stuff inside.)


    Fuse connector#2 (Leading away from power connection towards the trunk.)


    Ground cable! (No discoloration, no cracks/splits/nicks in the shielding.)


    Power connection wire! This wire is "Brand X Soft Rubber 4 GA Primary Wire"
    (Where Fuse connector #1 was attached.)


    Main power wire (Long stretch from Fuse connector #2 to the trunk)
    Shows discoloration(My guess is from the tape) and my finger nail is at the beginning of a slit.
    Said slit doesn't go deep enough to touch wire from what I can see/feel.


    Main power wire
    Showing the same spot as above image.


    Main power wire
    Spot on left hasn't been shown, spot on right is from the two above images.


    Main power wire
    Shown is a slightly discolored area that is hard to see.
    (No tape residue to cause the discoloration, seemingly this is discoloration inside the wire.)
    Focus on the right end of the wire, then look towards the left.
    The right is obviously blue, The middle and left parts appear blue-green-ish to my eye.


    Main power wire
    Same spot, moved slightly left.
    Showing slight discoloration.


    More pics in next post. Silly image limit...
    Last edited by its10v1; 12-13-2012 at 03:28 PM. Reason: Brand of my Power Connection wire added, it is the only wire that is labeled.



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

  5. #35
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Main power wire
    Same spot as above, further left on wire
    Captured is a fully discolored section.


    Main power wire
    Same spot as above two, again slightly to the left, discoloration fades.
    Fully normal wire color on left end of wire in this picture.


    Main power wire
    Different spot.
    Showing a gap in discoloration (Middle of wire, top and bottom edges are discolored.)


    Main power wire
    Bottom edge of above image.


    Main power wire
    Same spot as above, turned slightly to show the discoloration gaps.
    (Top edge of first image of this spot.)


    Main power wire
    Different, yet similar spot. Very distinct discoloration.


    Ground spot (Seat Support, Unused bolt/nut, put it to use.)


    Ground spot (Shown is how the ground would be bolted in.)


    That concludes my images at the moment. Speculation/criticism is welcome.
    Thanks in advance. :smile:

    In conclusion, I found no spots where my power could have been grounding. (The slit does not penetrate deep enough to tough the wire.)
    Last edited by its10v1; 12-13-2012 at 02:10 PM. Reason: conclusion



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

  6. #36
    kushy_dreams's Avatar
    kushy_dreams is offline The resident hippie



    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    twenty past four
    Posts
    4,091
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Your blue wire looks like some cheap audiopipe cca, but I still suspect you are setting the gain too high with cheap amps.

    A lot of those low end amps are rated for 1 ohm operation but it strongly decreases the life of the amp when its run that low.



    13 Dodge Dart Rallye 1.4T


    http://mobileaudioforum.com/forum/forum.php<

    BOYCOTT SKAR AUDIO! SHADY BUSINESS PRACTICES SHOULD NEVER BE ENCOURAGED!

  7. #37
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by kushy_dreams View Post
    Your blue wire looks like some cheap audiopipe cca, but I still suspect you are setting the gain too high with cheap amps.

    A lot of those low end amps are rated for 1 ohm operation but it strongly decreases the life of the amp when its run that low.
    I didnt use a DMM to set my gains, I did however set them sparingly. The Audiobahn amp was set at 1/2 gain for the first two weeks I had it, I backed it off to 1/3 because my lights we almost completely out when the bass hit. The Kole amp on the other hand was set at 1/3 gain from the moment I got it (lights were barely dimming and was getting more bass from it,) yet it only lasted two days and approximately 2-3hrs of play time at most. Looks like I'll be in the market for an amp.
    Last edited by its10v1; 12-13-2012 at 03:16 PM. Reason: light dimming situation with kole amp added



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

  8. #38
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Also just got back from having my battery load tested at AutoZone, battery has a cell going bad. Tech told me that leaving my car set for a week, it won't start from the battery, but since I start my car every day, the problem isn't eminent.


    Woot Post #200 !
    E-ween grows stronger, it does. [speaking like yoda, I am.]
    Last edited by its10v1; 12-13-2012 at 06:52 PM. Reason: troll, I am being.



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

  9. #39
    2Dcore's Avatar
    2Dcore is offline F*It



    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    PA.
    Age
    39
    Posts
    675
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Noob,Ha okay? Believe what you want. I don't have to go anywhere.



    HU- alpine CDA 117
    Front - RF 6 .5 T1 comps & RF pro audio super tweets (Amp-Memphis 16-MCA5004)
    Rear - 15" DC lvl 4 with lvl 5 soft parts
    (Amp Kicker kx2500.1
    Kinetic HC 2400's- Big 3 And a big mess of wire

  10. #40
    2Dcore's Avatar
    2Dcore is offline F*It



    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    PA.
    Age
    39
    Posts
    675
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Did you not read what i said? Yes i did put it in my ride after he blow 3 amps with-in days. So it blow my amp to and had to send out for repair



    HU- alpine CDA 117
    Front - RF 6 .5 T1 comps & RF pro audio super tweets (Amp-Memphis 16-MCA5004)
    Rear - 15" DC lvl 4 with lvl 5 soft parts
    (Amp Kicker kx2500.1
    Kinetic HC 2400's- Big 3 And a big mess of wire

  11. #41
    denim's Avatar
    denim is offline SSAudio.com



    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    SSA HQ East
    Age
    37
    Posts
    28,192
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    2Dcore, you manage Audio Connection in Pasadena?

    Back on topic, one thing no one has really addressed is that the position of the gain knob really means nothing, as gain pots are different from amplifier to amplifier.





    CarAudio.com mod(original)

  12. Thanks its10v1 thanked for this post
    Likes its10v1 liked this post
  13. #42
    NASTY08IMPALA's Avatar
    NASTY08IMPALA is online now CarAudio.com Veteran



    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY
    Posts
    5,185
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    quit buying ****** equipment..problem solved




  14. Dislikes its10v1 disliked this post
  15. #43
    NASTY08IMPALA's Avatar
    NASTY08IMPALA is online now CarAudio.com Veteran



    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY
    Posts
    5,185
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    horrible equipment +horrible install= blowing **** up




  16. Dislikes its10v1 disliked this post
  17. #44
    kSwift's Avatar
    kSwift is offline Member



    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Do you have a fuse in your fuse holder? I don't see it...




  18. #45
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by kSwift View Post
    Do you have a fuse in your fuse holder? I don't see it...
    The Audio shop said they tested it, it was bad, so they threw it away...
    Come to think of it, I'm not sure I have another laying around..
    Derp dala derpderp. They must'ta wanted me to buy their stuff.. sales sharks. Screw it, Gonna get a different Fuse holder. AGU's aren't stocked in my area 60 is the highest they're available at the stores I remember going to, even recently thinking about upgrading since the audiobahn had 30A x 3 fuses.. maybe it was being under powered.. I only had a 60A fuse.
    I remember seeing MAX/MAXI? of like 80A-100A (The large blade fuses. Fuse holder kits were seperate, and only included a 30A.) Wonder if ANL fuse holders are cheaper and/or more oriented towards car audio. Seems questing is needed. Price check on prune juice bob.. price check on prune juice. (Ferngully reference. OT, sry.)


    Wire comparison.. Seems my Power Connection Wire # 2 is the closest to true 4GA that I have.

    L to R: Navy blue-ish Brand X wire (Power connection # 1) is 1'4"(before Fuse holder,) Dark Brown/Light Blackish ground wire and is 2'1", Power connection wire # 2 (Pictured with the discoloration) is 9'4", Dark Blue 4GA Wire (DB Link wire pictured below) (Used for Amp - to - VC2 is 12'6", and Finally the first 4GA Wire I ever bought. This last wire was used for Amp + to + VC1 ( 10'9" run), jumpers for VC1 + to + VC2, as well as VC2 - to - VC1 (2x Short 2' long ea. runs.)
    ^ Could any of the wire differences cause an amps audio outputs to cook/blow?
    Thanks in advance for input.
    DB Link 4GA wire mentioned above, it's a 12'6" run.



    *Also have (Not pictured,) 2x 12'6" 1/0GA runs, 1 crimped ring term on 1 end of each run, that I got from outsideshot23 quite some time ago, I haven't mentioned it yet because I'm saving it for doing big 3 when I get a H.O alt, and a better battery.

    Grr Grr Grr.. Last smoke before bed. Stuff to look at when I get up. Q_Q

    Thanks again to everyone for input.
    Last edited by its10v1; 12-15-2012 at 10:11 PM. Reason: Mixed wires up, it was dark, lea' me 'lone.



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

Closed Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: RF Power Series Amps
    By amoffitt in forum Wanting to Buy (WTB) - Car Audio
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 10:59 PM
  2. a ? about the rf power series subs.
    By nativeboy in forum Subwoofers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-13-2007, 12:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts

1e2 Forum