Closed Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 75

Reload Thread: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

  1. #16
    DoesDad's Avatar
    DoesDad is offline CarAudio.com Veteran



    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    2,342
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    675 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Considering both of those amps are pretty much flea market. Im willing to bet you had the gain all the way up on the amp and the bass boost on?
    He stated in the beginning that he had the gain set at 1/3 and 1/2 and the bass boost off....




  2. Thanks its10v1 thanked for this post



  3. #17
    whitedragon551's Avatar
    whitedragon551 is offline Moderator



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    13,129
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1188 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by DoesDad View Post
    He stated in the beginning that he had the gain set at 1/3 and 1/2 and the bass boost off....
    Reading > Me

    With a 2v preout, gains at 1/2 and amps that dont do rated power. Its very likely he was clipping and destroyed the amp.



    CA.com FAQ's
    CA.com TOS Agreement
    Forum Rules



    HU: ///Alpine 9887, KCE-400BT, KCE-433IV, KTX-100EQ Imprint, 8Gb iPod Touch
    Front Mids: Eclipse SC6500
    Front Tweeters: Morel made Xtant 28MM Silks
    Subs: Audiomobile Evo 10" TC2+
    Enclosure: 1.1 Cubes sealed with 10 Ounces Poly Fill
    Amp: Audio Systems Twister F6 380 III

  4. Likes DoesDad liked this post
  5. #18
    TitoThePirate's Avatar
    TitoThePirate is offline Newb Nuthugger



    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Milwaukee,Wi
    Age
    22
    Posts
    456
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    161 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by 2Dcore View Post
    Your totally wrong subs can blow amps i have ran across this once. My friend had a Fosgate P3 every amp put to it blow in a matter of days. I thought it was him so i took it out of his car and put it to my 4 ch amp and don't you know it blow my memphis 4 ch to. Everyone on here is quick to say it's the install since they don't have an answer.
    ....go away noob.




  6. Dislikes whitedragon551 disliked this post
  7. #19
    DoesDad's Avatar
    DoesDad is offline CarAudio.com Veteran



    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    2,342
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    675 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by whitedragon551 View Post
    Reading > Me

    With a 2v preout, gains at 1/2 and amps that dont do rated power. Its very likely he was clipping and destroyed the amp.
    I agree. I was going to suggest maybe the OP get a dmm or take it to shop that has one... It's the only way he's going to know if he's clipping the sub/subs to death.




  8. Thanks its10v1 thanked for this post
    Dislikes Phoenix Risen disliked this post
  9. #20
    chargdbassbuick's Avatar
    chargdbassbuick is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    913
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    227 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    replace your 4 gauge with 60 amp fuse . with atleast 2 gauge and 150amp fuse . OFC


    surprised no one has noticed his power wire size and fuse



    SOLD TO: bravomaster22,st0n3r,tankdylan001,Glaciersoul, BKNIGHTS, ArabonRadar,Djsolo2k5

    BOUGHT FROM:bizzy07,psychoacoustics, davidtemple, JoeK #guesswho?

    TRADED WITH:

    Quote Originally Posted by jdawg View Post
    all cut, cant find anything good like 7 or 8 years ago, you know the economy is bad when you can find good drugs

  10. Likes Sleeklsc liked this post
  11. #21
    whitedragon551's Avatar
    whitedragon551 is offline Moderator



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    13,129
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1188 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by chargdbassbuick View Post
    replace your 4 gauge with 60 amp fuse . with atleast 2 gauge and 150amp fuse . OFC
    Has nothing to do with it. Neither amp does rated power. Even if they did 4awg is fine up to 1400wrms.



    CA.com FAQ's
    CA.com TOS Agreement
    Forum Rules



    HU: ///Alpine 9887, KCE-400BT, KCE-433IV, KTX-100EQ Imprint, 8Gb iPod Touch
    Front Mids: Eclipse SC6500
    Front Tweeters: Morel made Xtant 28MM Silks
    Subs: Audiomobile Evo 10" TC2+
    Enclosure: 1.1 Cubes sealed with 10 Ounces Poly Fill
    Amp: Audio Systems Twister F6 380 III

  12. #22
    chargdbassbuick's Avatar
    chargdbassbuick is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    913
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    227 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by whitedragon551 View Post
    Has nothing to do with it. Neither amp does rated power. Even if they did 4awg is fine up to 1400wrms.
    true . but with a 60 amp fuse??



    SOLD TO: bravomaster22,st0n3r,tankdylan001,Glaciersoul, BKNIGHTS, ArabonRadar,Djsolo2k5

    BOUGHT FROM:bizzy07,psychoacoustics, davidtemple, JoeK #guesswho?

    TRADED WITH:

    Quote Originally Posted by jdawg View Post
    all cut, cant find anything good like 7 or 8 years ago, you know the economy is bad when you can find good drugs

  13. #23
    whitedragon551's Avatar
    whitedragon551 is offline Moderator



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    13,129
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1188 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by chargdbassbuick View Post
    true . but with a 60 amp fuse??
    It will be fine. A lower amp fuse doesnt have anything to do with amps blowing subs or subs blowing amps. It has everything to do with how much current can go through that fuse before it pops. Its there to protect your amp from to much current.



    CA.com FAQ's
    CA.com TOS Agreement
    Forum Rules



    HU: ///Alpine 9887, KCE-400BT, KCE-433IV, KTX-100EQ Imprint, 8Gb iPod Touch
    Front Mids: Eclipse SC6500
    Front Tweeters: Morel made Xtant 28MM Silks
    Subs: Audiomobile Evo 10" TC2+
    Enclosure: 1.1 Cubes sealed with 10 Ounces Poly Fill
    Amp: Audio Systems Twister F6 380 III

  14. #24
    NoLoud4U's Avatar
    NoLoud4U is online now High Output SQ



    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Va Beach, Va
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,980
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    2932 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    He seems to like overrated junk amps. You can not set the gains with a DMM or its going to clip hard. You are doing something wrong



    2014 Ford Fusion
    All stock everything.

  15. #25
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    40 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by DoesDad View Post
    I agree. I was going to suggest maybe the OP get a dmm or take it to shop that has one... It's the only way he's going to know if he's clipping the sub/subs to death.
    I have a DMM (Digital Multi-Meter?) How can I find out if I would be clipping?
    Quote Originally Posted by whitedragon551 View Post
    Reading > Me

    With a 2v preout, gains at 1/2 and amps that dont do rated power. Its very likely he was clipping and destroyed the amp.
    Thank you first and foremost.
    I'm not sure what I've done to cause clipping, I have been doing my best to avoid it by setting my gains and keeping the bass boost off.
    How can I ensure that I'm avoiding a distorted signal/clipping?

    Sorry for the noob questions but I'm still new to the CA world, and I'm taking my steps to step my bass game up. However small those steps are..
    Again I greatly appreciate the help.



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

  16. #26
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    40 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by DCtC View Post
    He seems to like overrated junk amps. You can not set the gains with a DMM or its going to clip hard. You are doing something wrong
    I'm sorry that I can't afford the "big boy toys." I would love to be able to spend the money on quality products but the price(s) is my problem.
    I almost made a deal the other day with a guy on Craigslist in my area for a Hifonics Brutus Elite amp. He was only asking $250 for it, and had only used it a handful of times. Also told me something I didn't know about higher powered amps like that: No fuses on the amp itself. Though I'm thinking he's going to hang onto the amp.



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

  17. #27
    matt_bennett05's Avatar
    matt_bennett05 is offline mattchoo!



    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    South Westerly Georja
    Posts
    3,451
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    302 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by whitedragon551 View Post
    It will be fine. A lower amp fuse doesnt have anything to do with amps blowing subs or subs blowing amps. It has everything to do with how much current can go through that fuse before it pops. Its there to protect your amp from to much current.
    But, that wire hasn't been given a name brand yet either... What if it was say, American Pyle brand (you get what I'm saying) that was actuall 8 gauge CCA in a heavy shell? That could come into play.



    D.D.Q.F.

    Traded with : norrizzle9, BassAddictJ (x2), TWiZTid859, btr, btdickey, mylows10, Sour_Deez, El_Weenie;
    Bought from : NeilBarber, kurtbeast, bubbagumper, cd6551,
    mistergrubbs, gbo559, ltr450racer690, nismos14, ptcmarty,

  18. Thanks its10v1 thanked for this post
  19. #28
    NoLoud4U's Avatar
    NoLoud4U is online now High Output SQ



    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Va Beach, Va
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,980
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    2932 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by its10v1 View Post
    I'm sorry that I can't afford the "big boy toys." I would love to be able to spend the money on quality products but the price(s) is my problem.
    I almost made a deal the other day with a guy on Craigslist in my area for a Hifonics Brutus Elite amp. He was only asking $250 for it, and had only used it a handful of times. Also told me something I didn't know about higher powered amps like that: No fuses on the amp itself. Though I'm thinking he's going to hang onto the amp.
    You would of spent the same in the long run.



    2014 Ford Fusion
    All stock everything.

  20. #29
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    40 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_bennett05 View Post
    But, that wire hasn't been given a name brand yet either... What if it was say, American Pyle brand (you get what I'm saying) that was actuall 8 gauge CCA in a heavy shell? That could come into play.
    It's very well possible that the 4-Ga wire I'm using isn't true 4-Ga. I'm uploading pics at the moment of my wire(s). Will post shortly.



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

  21. #30
    its10v1's Avatar
    its10v1 is offline The Caped Rock-Head

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Flint, Murda-Mitten(Mi)
    Age
    22
    Posts
    395
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    40 Post(s)

    Re: RF Power Series T112D2 Blowing Amps?

    Quote Originally Posted by DCtC View Post
    You would of spent the same in the long run.
    I'm realizing that more and more my friend. Thank you. :-)
    Last edited by its10v1; 12-13-2012 at 01:40 PM. Reason: :smile: didn't become an emoticon



    Team Starr Mountain Nuthugger #4
    Bought From: outsideshot23, bigguy2010, SAZCLASSD, centergod79, SPLaudio, JCRF71, Vertex Audio, assassin1840, woofercooker, double 07
    Sold To: ChucklezZ, Davecub14
    1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP Sedan: (2) C&D 102AH Trunk Batteries, Needs Big 3
    Sub stage: Custom SPLaudio 12" DC Lvl 5 m1 motor Dual 2-Ohm
    Box: 1.75ft^3 ported @ 31hz
    Sub Amp: Cadence ZRS C5 (5,100w RMS 1-Ohm @ 14.4v)

Closed Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: RF Power Series Amps
    By amoffitt in forum Wanting to Buy (WTB) - Car Audio
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 11:59 PM
  2. a ? about the rf power series subs.
    By nativeboy in forum Subwoofers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-13-2007, 01:54 AM

User Tag List

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
1e2 Forum