Closed Thread

Reload Thread: bottoming out? or what

caraudio93 is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

bottoming out? or what

im pretty new to the car audio scene, and i go my system set up a few days ago. the sub is an audiopipe tsvr 15, and the amp is an audiopipe apsm-1300. the sub is 500wrms and i have it wired for 2 ohms, and the amp is 600w rms @ 2ohms. Today i turned it up quite loud and it made like a popping sound. I thought this was the sound of it bottoming out, but how is that possible, the HU volume was only on 40/62, and the remote bass nob wasnt even half way up. Since the sensitivity on the amp is .2v-5v, i turned the gain up a little less than half, because my HU rca's are 2.2v. why do you think it would make this sound and also. how do i know when i'm pushing it too hard? it's in a sealed box so i can't smell it. And is it possible for the amp to be putting out more than 500 watts rms at the settings described above? thanks guys.

DDtC is online now High Output SQ

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)

Re: bottoming out? or what

Make sure your box is sealed well and the sub is screwed down tight.. Sounds like a air leak

• 2010 Scion tC
    • Pioneer DEH-80PRS
    • JL 450/4v2 Active (Mid range, tweeters) JL 300/2v2 (Mid bass) DD M4(Subs)
    • Hertz HV 165XL
    • Hertz HT28
    • JL ZR800
    • 2 x DD 9512i
    • Singer 300 amp 15.1v bypass, 3 XS D3400s
    • Viper 5701 with Smart Start

09civic is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    38 Post(s)

you probably fried it. you gave the sub a clipped signal that eventually fried the sub. combo of a dirty signal and lack of electrical

infamous_e46 is offline hArRy_DaNgLeRs

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    30 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by 95saturn View Post
    you probably fried it. you gave the sub a clipped signal that eventually fried the sub. combo of a dirty signal and lack of electrical