Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Standing out of the JL Audio crowd, need help!

BoominEclipse is offline Senior VIP Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Standing out of the JL Audio crowd, need help!

First off I'm a newbie in car audio. Now what I'm doing is an overhaul on my Mitsubishi Eclipse and am willing to fork out $1,000+ for a good stereo.

The problem...

I live in extreme northeast Ohio. Around here JL AUDIO, Rockford Fosgate & Kicker is the monopoly since we have limited car audio dealers and the most popular dealer swears by JL only (which irritates me) for subs, others tout Kicker & Rockford; so everyone has those in their trunk and claims there's nothing better out there. Now I'm not bagging JL (don't really care for Fosgates or Kickers), I heard one 15W6 in a friends Plymouth Laser running off a PPI amp and MB Quart for fronts and that was one nice system.

I then went to NW Pennsylvania and a guy from a dealer took me out to his Chevette which had a Cerwin Vega Stroker 18" housed in a box that took the whole trunk. He had a US AMP VLX-400 pushing this thing and it literally made it hard for me to breathe. I couldn't imagine driving down the road with that thing, i was stunned by the massive bass from that speaker. But I loved it!

Now I am learning from this forum some new players I've never heard of in subwoofers and want something out of the norm around here. Would love a Stroker 15" but am not willing to use most of my trunk for a box. But know for sure that a Stroker 15" slams any JL 15" I've heard.

I'm not looking to compete with my system, but am looking to impress since we're big into systems around here ... but also looking for that hellofa stand out system to go along with all of the exterior work I'm having done to the car.