User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Reload Thread: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

  1. #1
    ItalynStylion's Avatar
    ItalynStylion is offline Audiophile



    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, Tx.
    Posts
    1,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    My uncle wants me to design him a pretty simple sub stage that will fit under his F150's rear seat. He also wants it to be cheap. His space constraints for the box are as follows....24" length X 6.5" height X 9.5" deep. So pretty much it seems like he will have to do a sealed 8 or two sealed 6.5's since the space constraints are pretty tight.

    First thing i thought of with regard to cheap, tight space, decent sq and output was the new AA Assassin lineup. I thought maybe a small amp run in 2 ohms pushing maybe 400rms in a sealed box would do the trick....what do you guys think? Would an Assassin 8 be ok on that much power? Anything else I should be considering for him?



    Quote Originally Posted by qtipextra View Post
    is 2 12's overkill for HT?
    Quote Originally Posted by JimJ View Post
    It's a start.




  2. #2
    cman9012's Avatar
    cman9012 is offline Senior VIP Member



    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Heart Of Texas
    Posts
    491
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    maybe space up the seat with wood blocks?




  3. #3
    ItalynStylion's Avatar
    ItalynStylion is offline Audiophile

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, Tx.
    Posts
    1,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    Quote Originally Posted by cman9012 View Post
    maybe space up the seat with wood blocks?
    I don't think he really wants to do much to the truck. He wants something he can basically just slide right in. I'm going to put this all together and mail it to him so all he has to do is wire up the amp.



    Quote Originally Posted by qtipextra View Post
    is 2 12's overkill for HT?
    Quote Originally Posted by JimJ View Post
    It's a start.

  4. #4
    Kold_Killa's Avatar
    Kold_Killa is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Little Rock, AR
    Posts
    1,489
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    Deleted Because I Feel Dumb As Hell!!!!
    Last edited by Kold_Killa; 02-04-2008 at 09:29 PM.



    '98 Ford F150 Ext Cab
    Refs: gHoStFacE - its_bacon12 - 18inchjeepin - wu501
    Alpine CDE-9881 - Cadence TXA-3002 - Cadence TXA-1000d
    Mach 5 IXL 10 1cuft 40hz - CDT CL-61A

  5. #5
    ItalynStylion's Avatar
    ItalynStylion is offline Audiophile

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, Tx.
    Posts
    1,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    Quote Originally Posted by Kold_Killa View Post
    No such thing...
    Orly?
    http://www.soundsolutionsaudio.com/s...&productId=162



    Quote Originally Posted by qtipextra View Post
    is 2 12's overkill for HT?
    Quote Originally Posted by JimJ View Post
    It's a start.

  6. #6
    Kold_Killa's Avatar
    Kold_Killa is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Little Rock, AR
    Posts
    1,489
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    Wow... that is great... I've been wanting AA 8s and always saw the 10s first and I guess never bothered to go further figuring they were in order...

    Please flame me as I deserve it, I'm just excited that I have a woofer to order now!!!

    Sorry Italyn, and what the fuc|< ... I' am idiot!?!?!?!!?



    '98 Ford F150 Ext Cab
    Refs: gHoStFacE - its_bacon12 - 18inchjeepin - wu501
    Alpine CDE-9881 - Cadence TXA-3002 - Cadence TXA-1000d
    Mach 5 IXL 10 1cuft 40hz - CDT CL-61A

  7. #7
    ItalynStylion's Avatar
    ItalynStylion is offline Audiophile

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, Tx.
    Posts
    1,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    ^lol, don't be so hard on yourself man. The new AA lineup is hard to find specs on. I haven't seen a lot of people review them so I don't have a lot of info to go on here.

    Since I don't have the space to port whatever sub I get for him I thought we could run more power to gain output. I figured that the old assassins were able to take quite a bit more power over their RMS rating so these would be the same or better.



    Quote Originally Posted by qtipextra View Post
    is 2 12's overkill for HT?
    Quote Originally Posted by JimJ View Post
    It's a start.

  8. #8
    Kold_Killa's Avatar
    Kold_Killa is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Little Rock, AR
    Posts
    1,489
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    Id8?



    '98 Ford F150 Ext Cab
    Refs: gHoStFacE - its_bacon12 - 18inchjeepin - wu501
    Alpine CDE-9881 - Cadence TXA-3002 - Cadence TXA-1000d
    Mach 5 IXL 10 1cuft 40hz - CDT CL-61A

  9. #9
    ItalynStylion's Avatar
    ItalynStylion is offline Audiophile

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, Tx.
    Posts
    1,275
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: F150 sub setup for my Uncle, need some advise

    Quote Originally Posted by Kold_Killa View Post
    Id8?
    Oh **** yeah....I just looked at the specs on the ID 8's and you can port them in half a cube and they're only $99!

    That just might be the winner

    Any recommendations on what I should tune to? I was thinking something like 33hz...



    Quote Originally Posted by qtipextra View Post
    is 2 12's overkill for HT?
    Quote Originally Posted by JimJ View Post
    It's a start.

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
1e2 Forum