Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Components for a McIntosh (40 x 2)

nilus is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Components for a McIntosh (40 x 2)

Hi. Noob here. I'm looking to put some SQ stuff into my Scion Xb. Quality and stealth factor are more important than anything else. I don't listen to my music loud.

So, here's the deal...I just bought an older McIntosh MCC82 amp that puts out 40 watts x 2 (I'm sure that's RMS since they don't mess around with their numbers). I got it in mint condition for $200 so I'm pretty happy. My fear is that the component sets I'm looking at--Dynaudio 240GT, Focal 165, and DLS Iridium 6.2--are claiming 100 watts nominal. I'm especially interested in the Dyns, but a lot of people say they need power. I mean, 40 watts and 100 watts isn't that big of a difference, especially when they're high quality watts, right? Any advice?

By the way, I'm not sure what H/U I'll be using yet, but I'm thinking of picking up the Alpine IVA-d310 when it comes out this month...if that makes any difference for the discussion.

I have so many other questions (where/how to install, etc.), but this is my first major hurdle. Any help is appreciated..

Thanks,
    Nilus

T3mpest is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)

Re: Components for a McIntosh (40 x 2)

Really no such thing as a "high quality watt", electricity either is, or it isn't. That's why its usually a better idea to pick the match the comps to an amp, not the other way around. You can always try, you'll only use the full power at max volume anyway. So for daily driving it should be fine.

DBfan187 is offline Supa's mom was here!

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by T3mpest
    Really no such thing as a "high quality watt", electricity either is, or it isn't.
    words to live by, preach it!

3.5Max6spd is offline yo mama no wear no draws

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned