Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Help needed improving stock gm sound, please...

tds73 is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Help needed improving stock gm sound, please...

Hello all,
    I will try to be short and to the point. I am a newbie here and not a big audio buff. I have a new Buick Lacrosse with the Intellilink stereo, base with 7 speakers(not Harmon Kardon). I just had a Rockford 750 amp installed with a pioneer shallow box and a 12" ts-w3001 s2 in it. Trouble is, the stock speakers lack the mid-bass, tight thump. I have to turn down the bass on the head unit to turn up the volume and I am guessing this is where a lot of the problem comes from.
    Question is, can something be done (like crossovers) to the stock speakers so i can turn the bass back up a little to regain some mids without distorting with the lower freq notes? If so, would it be dumb to add say a 5 channel amp, 1 channel to run sub and the others to run the stock speakers and maybe crispen/clean up the sound a little. I am just not sure i want to spend all the money to replace the stock speakers. Thanks for your time.

maylar is offline Electrical Weenie

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)

Re: Help needed improving stock gm sound, please...

You can put "bass blockers" inline with the speakers to keep the low bass out of them. I would start with 75Hz or 80Hz blockers (check Crutchfield) and see if that does it.

Upgrading the speakers would of course help. Adding an amp would be a good solution too, since you can set the lowest frequency the speakers wil play.

dave
    ----------
    1999 Buick Park Ave Ultra
    Head Unit: JVC KWHDR720
    EQ: Audiocontrol EQL
    Front Stage: Hybrid Audio Technologies Imagine 5.25 mids, Morel Maximo tweets
    Sub Stage: Boston G3 10", 0.5 cu ft sealed
    Amp: PPI Phantom 900.4
    Rear Fill: Boston SE953 6X9's

tds73 is offline Junior Member

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)