Closed Thread

Reload Thread: 3.5" + midbass or just a component set?

MikeS is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

3.5" + midbass or just a component set?

Hey guys!

I'm trying to improve the lousy stereo in my Prius. I used to be super into car audio, but these days I'm just looking for a solid SQ system. I'm a musician and audio engineer, so SQ is all I car about. I'm getting older and don't like loud anymore...and I drive a Prius...someone beat me up!

Anyways, the Prius has these retarded little 2.5" sqwuakers in the dash and 6x9s in the doors. It'd take a little bit of surgery, but I could squeeze a 3.5" speaker in the dash. I'd roll it off around 200 and then put a 6.5" mid bass woofer in the door. Seems reasonable, and it'd be nice to get some mids in front of me, but I'm not sure I wouldn't be better off just putting a nice set of components in and mounting the tweeter in an ideal location rather than up under the glass where the factory speakers are.

I'd love to hear some thoughts about this. Also I'd love to get some speaker suggestions. 3.5" seem little hard to come by. Anyone know a good 3.5" speaker with a great smooth sounding tweeter? I tend to like silk or soft dome tweeters. Nothing too harsh.

My previous car had a DEI mid bass with focal tweeters and it was nice. Whats comparable these days? Lots of new players in the car audio market and seemingly less places to hear them all.

Thanks guys!

Mike

Chriszle is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    373 Post(s)

Re: 3.5" + midbass or just a component set?

I would do a component set. You can play with the positions of the components to get the sound you are looking for.

zako is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    238 Post(s)