Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Setup for my Z31

datniche is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)

Setup for my Z31

Hey everyone. This is my first post here. I am kind of an audiophile with everything but my car, where I'm a total noob. I'm looking to get a nice setup for my 300zx.

I already own an Alpine CDA-117 Head Unit.

After reading around here, I'm unsure what the best type of setup would be. I'm looking into CDT for the speakers as I've seen many recommendations.

A. Component speakers up front, no rear. 2 channel amp.
    B. Component speakers up front, no rear, small subwoofer, 4(?) channel amp.
    C. Component speakers up front, mid-bassy coaxials in rear, 4 channel amp.

Option A seems great if I can get sufficient bass out of the components.

My car has 6.5" speakers in the front and rear. I'm guessing the shape of the car would work fine without rears.

I'd really like some help choosing how many channels for the amp I need. Specific recommendations would be great for that.

As for budget, it really depends how many pieces I'm buying because those options are pretty different. I'll just throw out $400 total.

Thanks a lot.

winkychevelle is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)

Re: Setup for my Z31

just do components up front on a good amp depending on the bass u like id suggest at least a budget 10 setup. an ssa dcon, and the the ia 5.1 is under 400 and would leave you room to upgrade to two dcons if you wanted more.

personally i used the time alignment on my cda-117 to time align my tweeters separate from my mids by bi-amping the set to where the tweets are on the front channels of the head unit and the mids are on the rears. i never even had to amp my components in my car headunit power was enough for me.

sealing and deadening the doors will improve the midbass output from the mids alot and is well worth the time and money.

2014 Chevrolet Cruze Diesel