Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Bass adjuster

musiqlover is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Bass adjuster

A preface, I'm a newbie to car audio, but, very curious about it. I've been trying to improve the midbass on my front drivers. I'm in the beginning processes of sound deadening the doors and set my hipass to around 80hz, based on the advice of this forum. Besides that, I want to know how the bass setting on the HU works. What exactly is going on when I increase the bass setting? As I understand, most mid range speakers can't handle the lower frequencies, so by increasing the bass on my HU, it is only "amplifying" the frequencies that I set the hipass for the drivers right? So, in other words, I can jack up the bass and it should technically not damage my drivers since it's only handling a frequency range I set for it?

Can anyone confirm what I'm saying or clarify on it?

eharri3 is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: Bass adjuster

When you set crossivers realize they aren't a brick wall. What happens is the sound below the high pass or the sound above the low pass begins to attenuate at a certain rate so the speakers are still playing frequencies above or below the filter, they're just gradually getting quieter as you get further from the crossover point until you can't hear them anymore. Even with the steepest slope this is true, this just means the frequencies are attenuated the fastest so you won't get TOO far from your crossover point before the driver isn't playing those frequencies anymore. If you set your EQ bass boost for more bass at say 60 HZ and your HPF is set at 80, no, you're not increasing the bass as much above your filter as you are below it but you are probably still boosting some of it.