Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Will this blow my speakers?

jriley3 is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Will this blow my speakers?

I'm new to the car audio, and I'm a little confused for the moment. Im going to get components for the front will run between 100-120 watts RMS each, and then i want to get cheap rear speakers as they dont matter as much, but since i am going to buy an amp, im going to want want that will Properly power the RMS of my components, (100-120 RMS) but all the rears i have looked at have 60-70 Watts RMS. Wont this mean my amp will overpower the rears and blow them?

Tips is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: Will this blow my speakers?

Do yourself a favor and forget the rear fill. It just messes with the sound stage. You want the vocals and the highs coming at you from the front, and the bass coming at you from the back. Your ears will thank you later.

Not only that, but a chain is only as strong as the weakest link, and a sound system is only as good as the worst product. Cheap rear speakers will make the rest of your good quality parts sounds bad.

Use the money you would spend on rears and a 4ch amp to buy better front speakers, and a 2channel amp, and your system will sound MUCH better.

Tips is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

And no, if you set the gains properly on an amp, you won't blow a speaker that is rated at a lower rms than the amp, but I'm not sure how that will work with with a 4ch amp.

jriley3 is offline Member

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

ok sounds good. your a genius. I was really wary of not getting rear speakers because In my old car, I used to fade it to the back so i could hear the surround sound a little better. But those were stock speakers and head unit. So you really think thats the way to go? Should i buy a 4channel and bridge them in case i decide to get rear speakers?