Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Question about component watts...

OmegaBunny is offline Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    450 Post(s)

Question about component watts...

This is just something I was wondering, not that I am planning on doing this, just wondering if there is a way to do it. Is there a way to determine the watts that the individual pieces can handle? For example, if a set is rated for 80w's, can the tweeter and woofer each handle 80w's or does the woofer handle say 50w and the tweeter handle 30w? Also, if I have a 80 x 4 amp and one set of components, can I send the power from each of the channels to a piece on the components, 2 channels to the tweets, 1 channel a piece and 2 channels to the woofers, 1 channel a piece? Sorry if this is a noob question, but I am a noob and trying to learn as much as possible. Thanks for any help!

DejaWiz is offline Speaker Bee-otch

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Re: Question about component watts...

Quote Originally Posted by OmegaBunny View Post
    This is just something I was wondering, not that I am planning on doing this, just wondering if there is a way to do it.

1. Is there a way to determine the watts that the individual pieces can handle? For example, if a set is rated for 80w's, can the tweeter and woofer each handle 80w's or does the woofer handle say 50w and the tweeter handle 30w?

2. Also, if I have a 80 x 4 amp and one set of components, can I send the power from each of the channels to a piece on the components, 2 channels to the tweets, 1 channel a piece and 2 channels to the woofers, 1 channel a piece?

Sorry if this is a noob question, but I am a noob and trying to learn as much as possible. Thanks for any help!