Closed Thread

Reload Thread: To kick or not to kick?

kross is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

To kick or not to kick?

Howdy,

I'm upgrading my speakers to components. This is my first time with components. I've pretty much decided on Rainbow SLC 265. I just don't know if I should get the Kick version or not. Sure, I would love the higher end Rainbow products, but they're a bit out of my price range now.

I currently have 2 Kicker 10" Comps in a sealed box, with a Kicker zx300.1 amp. I also have a Kicker zx350.4 amp for the comps, currently powering 4 coaxials. It will be running bridged for 175x2 @ 4 ohms. I will not be running rear speakers with the comps. The comps will be mounted in the door, because I don't have room for kick pods.

The music I listen to: mostly electronica, industrial, some rock/heavy metal. Groups such as Delerium, Prodigy, Crystal Method, Yello, KMFDM, Front 242, and the occasional Metallica.

It's not all about bass. I want the vocals to be great, too. I want it to feel like Sarah McLaughlan singing for Delerium is right there in front of me. I want a good balanced sound, but capable of kicking some bass when needed.

Thanks for your help!
    -- Kevin

Latina33 is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: To kick or not to kick?

Quote Originally Posted by kross View Post
    Howdy,

I'm upgrading my speakers to components. This is my first time with components. I've pretty much decided on Rainbow SLC 265. I just don't know if I should get the Kick version or not. Sure, I would love the higher end Rainbow products, but they're a bit out of my price range now.