Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Reload Thread: Need advice....very detailed

FiveseveN is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Need advice....very detailed

I am planning a complete upgrade of my factory system. I have an 03 Ford Excursion Limited. I am getting ready to build a Car PC, I am a PC tech so this part will be easy for me. I am also going to Dynamat all of the doors, rear doors inside the rear trim and eventually the floor.

I want to upgrade my speakers with compontents but that is were my thoughts end. I am not sure what speakers to get and what would be the best set up as far as 2way or 3way.

I listen to mainly Rock,Country,R&B and some Hip Hop.....my focus is on Quality and not SPL.

My EX has speakers in the front doors, second row passenger doors and next to the third row seat.

I also want to fit some 10 (12" max) subs in there but I cant find one place to put them. I dont want a sub box and take up my cargo room and the only other option I could find was a sub box built into the front center console. This is not an option. They could be mounted in the rear doors but they would be facing forward and sound horrible.

This all boils down to the questions I am looking for answers too:

1. What type of component system (2way or 3way)
    If 3way then kick panel or will it fit in door, not sure i like the kick panel.

2. What combination of component (front only or front and second row)
    Should I use the third row for 6" subs, or component or something else.

3. What all options do I have for subs.
    Outside of some crazy high dollar fabrication.

4. What brand of components would be good for what I listen too.
    I am thinking Focal,MB Quart,JL or something.

I am hoping some of you have worked or own an Excursion and are familiar with all the spaces behind the panels and such.

I need as much info and help as possible, no one around here wants to brainstorm and give me any good idea's.