Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

Should I try to DIY my components? Advice

Hi.

I am a beginner in car audio. Last summer, I made some money and decided to put a carputer in my car and didnt have much money left to spend on audio. My car right now consists of a 4 channel Pioneer amp (gmt-6200f) and the stock speakers. The stock speakers sound really bad and I am waiting for my finals to be over so that I can get a job and upgrade. Right now, I would like to focus on what 5.25 components to get. I think I would like to keep the cost under $200 canadian for the components. Ive done much searching but I still havent gotten a good idea of what components are strongly recommended (only a very general view). Its also hard to find a good place to buy the components in Canada. I then got the idea to maybe DIY my components and to buy everything custom. Maybe from partsexpress.com.

Although I dont know much right now, I will probably read up heavily over the summer on the individual components to decide what may work best. But I would like to know your guy's opinions on whether I should attempt to DIY this. It seems that the most complex part would be on deciding which crossover to use. Would any of these crossovers be a viable option?
    http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage....ctGroup_ID=193

There is also alot of choice when it comes to picking out the tweeters and woofers, are there any 5.25 woofers that are highly recommended? What about tweeters? Id like to narrow it down a bit first. Of course since this will be used in a car, I dont think choosing anything with a paper cone would be a good idea. I realize that custom speaker building is more complex then to just slap parts together. Id really like to get it done right in the first place.