Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Big time component problem(s)

bholtmeier is offline Holtskill

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Big time component problem(s)

Today I received my kicker kx450.2 and hooked it up to my new polk momo mmc6500 set. Once we turned it on, problems started. Gains were set properly. Amp x'over at 90hz. bass boost at 0db.

When I started playing music, I noticed that it was very quiet. I turned up the volume on the HU up to halfway and the amp would go into protect. Turned the gains way down and we still got the amp to go into protect, just at a higher volume.

Another thing that bothered me was the fact that the right channel hardley had any output whatsoever. The left channel had decent output, but it was hissing a little bit and it didnt sound clean at all.

Could my problem be a wire grounding out on the right channel, causing the left to sound distorted? I cant think of any other reason for the amp to cut out unless there was a wire grounding out.

Also note that both amps, the sub amp and the front amp are grounded at the same place. Could that be an issue?

I know thats alot of information, but all and any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Refs:
    Patfitz9,Farkel,PowerNAudio,Qtrhorse,theCybe,Kicke R_TauruS,SWEET06CAMRY, mike dressure,vernisog, Racerx250, iceteebone

Camaro Box build tutorial

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=217344

Louisiana_CRX is offline dem shoes......

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)

Re: Big time component problem(s)

Sounds like a bad amp Your grounding shouldn't be the problem...two test you can try is 1) reverse the rca inputs...see if sound starts on other side....if so a bad rca....2) reverse speaker wires...if sound on the other side ...may be a pinched spkr wire... Hope this helps

Current 2010 Louisiana USACi State Records :

Trunk 0-1000.................. 151.3
    StreetBeat 2................... 145.6
    Stock 1801-up.................153.8