Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Question

2Sicc is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Question

Alright I'm fairly new to buying speakers so I have some questions. When you buy a set of say...6X9's and it says they run at 100watts RMS, do they mean per speaker or both speakers, when in actuality they run at 50 watts a piece?

another thing, if I were to buy a component set by polk audio that includes a pair of 5 1/4 speakers and a pair of 1" tweeters and in the specs it says 100watts RMS. Would they mean per speaker or the full set?

Eldorado is offline Banned

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: Question

Per pair

To the set. It goes to the crossover, it distributes it from there to the midwoofer and tweeter

Prowler573 is offline R.I.P. Gossamer!!

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by 2Sicc
    Alright I'm fairly new to buying speakers so I have some questions. When you buy a set of say...6X9's and it says they run at 100watts RMS, do they mean per speaker or both speakers, when in actuality they run at 50 watts a piece?
    Per speaker - meaning if you had two channels of amplification that output 100w apiece (200w total) then it would be a great match for the speakers

another thing, if I were to buy a component set by polk audio that includes a pair of 5 1/4 speakers and a pair of 1" tweeters and in the specs it says 100watts RMS. Would they mean per speaker or the full set?