Reload Thread: little bit of crossover design information please

req
    req is offline am a mod.

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

little bit of crossover design information please

its my first time looking to build a passive xover for some speakers, right now - my stereo is a little lacking (i dont have a crossover atm). dont ask why, its a long story.

so - i was thinking of slapping some caps\inductors on the lines to get a little better sound out of them - seeing as caps\inductors are pretty cheap these days.

it looks like (from www.bcae1.com) that all ya gotta do is figure out where you want your points at, caps = highpass, inductors = lowpass, and use this formula=

1\2*pi*xover point*impedance = capicator in farads (multiply by 1,000,000 to convert to microfarads)

and inductors for highpass, formula=

impedance\2*pi*xover frequency = inductor in henries (multiply by 1000 to convert to millihenries)

then just slap them in series with the speaker (it didnt clarify weather they went in series with the POSATIVE or NEGATIVE lead)?

thats all a passive crossover network entails? aside from modeling how they will respond in the enclosure, and putting in +\- db slope configurations and all that fancy crap - just a cap and a coil in series with the loudspeaker and your done?

just clarifying this. any links to some good passive crossover how-to sites would be appriciated.

VOA_NIGHTMARE is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: little bit of crossover design information please

bump so i can hear it when its done

Bartak1 is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Holy Crap. Req's askin a question. And this whole time I though he knew everything. lol

6 db first order xovers are really simple, just stick a cap on for the high's, and an inductor for the lows. They go on the pos. wire too, series wired in of course.