Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Worm needs help finding dirt

texastea is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Icon8 Worm needs help finding dirt

Hi everyone I am a newbie in every sense of the word, when it comes to this car audio.If you don't mind I could use some info from someone, who can at least tell ya what a crossover is!Here is what I need help with please bear with me.I recently purchased an 02 avalanche 1500 w/onstar and a factory stereo.The speakers were all blown so I decided to replace.So I bought two sets of infinity kappa60.9cs 1 set for back and 1 for up front.Purchased an infinity 475a 4 channel amp to drive it.I had this professionally installed ( for 457.00) I might add but they rewired the doors also so The thing is it sounds absolutey horrible.I am told to up grade head unit.Is the head unit from factory that bad.Heck the old speakers that came from factory sounded better.Is it becauce I now have so much more power that you hear so much distortion or something the tweeters which he mounted up high by your ears in the back I think make more noise than music.Can the head unit be to blame I swear it sounded better 1000.00 $ back with cheap speakers.If it is What would you recommend.I have been narrowing it down with SOUND QUALITY and of course MONEY as main factor so we talk single din which lead me to pioneer or kenwood .Any help or advice would be deeply appreciated.I hope everyone is having a great year.Where I live in southern us it has been a hot DRY year and we finally ,(repeat) finally got some decent rain.At least it will help for next year! see ya and thanks

UnderFire is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)

Re: Worm needs help finding dirt

Sounds like the speakers aren't properly crossed over to me. Is there a lot of distortion in the bass?

97 4runner, 3RZ, 5 Speed

Headunit: Alpine CDA-9887
    Mids: CDT HD-6CF
    Tweets: CDT DRT-25
    Fronts Amp: Hertz HDP4