Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

What Navigation Head Unit with iPhone 5

I have a 2008 Silverado Pickup with factory Nav and Bose system. The only thing that I like about the system is the integrated Nav. I would like to have Bluetooth Phone and Audio Streaming, Rear Camera, and the ability to play video from my iPhone on the rear seat entertainment screen. I am ready to ditch the Bose amplifiers and speakers and go with a new system. The only things that I would like to keep are the SWC, Rear Seat Entertainment, Rear Seat Audio Control, and OnStar.

I have not played with aftermarket audio equipment since I graduated from College in 1982 but I know a lot about the integration in the vehicle and know that while an aftermarket system takes some extra interfaces to install, it is still going to be better than installing interfaces for new functionality with the factory system.

I have been reviewing the options and really like the idea of the new line of App Radios that are coming from the aftermarket. I had a chance to spend a couple of days in a new Cadillac XTS with the Cue radio and liked how I could hook my iPhone 5 into it and control Pandora and my audio content from the head unit and it looks like a lot of the newer head units offer similar (and more) capability.

So my request is for opinions on which Head Unit offers the best function and connectivity with the iPhone 5. I have been looking at the JVC, Pioneer, and Kenwood systems but there seems to be a lot of conflicting information on the internet and there are no good retailers around here that seem to know what they are talking about. I would also be interested in advice on interfaces that will work with my truck and speaker selections.

Thanks in advance,
    Greg

J5Cub is offline Junior Member

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)