Reload Thread: alpine vs. pioneer

ejschultz is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

alpine vs. pioneer

well, i know there's been a lot of threads related to this, but i figured i'd get some fresh opinions. i purchased a pioneer premier p800prs today to replace my alpine 9855. after reading a lot about both units, i've come to the conclusion that i've upgraded. i don't have the hu in my possession just yet, i ordered it through sixth ave on amazon for 344.44 new and shipped. i figured that's a hell of a price for it new. this is my first time straying away from an alpine hu. did i make the right decision?

94 Caprice Classic LS: DEH-P800PRS, TS-C720PRS, MRV-F545, MRD-M1005, 2 Fi X 12s in 2.5 net cubes sealed; 97 Grand Cherokee TSi: CDA-9855, TS-D1720C, MRV-F345, MRD-M605, SWX-1043D in .54 net cubes sealed

Resident Jeep Expert, Mother Fucker

Alpine4life89 is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: alpine vs. pioneer

9887 is better. IMO anyways. Why did you go from alpine to pioneer, that is stupid.

Head Unit - Shaker 500 Mustang stock
    Front Stage - 2 Image Dynamics CTX-65
    Rear Stage - Image Dynamics CTX-65
    Subs - 2 TC Sounds LMS R 15's
    Front Stage Amp - Sundown 100.2
    Rear Stage Amp - Sundown 100.2
    Sub Stage Amp - Sundown 3500

MBrock4u is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hard to say, but one thing is clear. You have a very good deck on the way. I almost got that one myself. I'm sure you'll be happy with it.

gearhound17 is offline Senior VIP Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I thought about that Pioneer too.
    But, I've had my CDA-7863 for nine years wuthout much of a problem. Motorized face still works flawlessly. Although the contacts between the face and body are worn out.