Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Need your experience on building a system...

Andrew_D is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Need your experience on building a system...

Hello everybody, I enjoy this website very much. I am fairly new to car audio, but plan to slowly build a system for great sound quality. I have a 94 Honda Civic coupe with 6 total speakers. 2 tweeters in each door, 2 woofers in the door near the calves, and obviously, two in the back (6.5 Infinity Refs in the back). When I bought the car, the two woofers up front were blown. I recently bought a set of Cerwin Vega V-Mag 5252 (5.25") components and tried to install them. Turns out the tweeter and woofer wire didn't connect where I thought they would be and now I am going to have them done at Circuit City/Best Buy (Car Toys wanted $140 to install just the components!!!) However, I am slightly apprehensive about these speakers because they would need a new bracket (too deep for the factory) and thus, higher installation costs.
    BUT, the reason why I made this thread is because I can return these for other components.

I was looking at the Infinity Kappa 60.5cs'. I can get them for a good price and it is confirmed that they will fit in my door (cut the back of the bracket out..) The only downside is that they handle 90w RMS versus the Cerwin's 50w RMS. From what I've read, it's better to have an amp that provides more wattage then the speakers RMS. This means that I need 90w minimum to feed these speakers.