Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Looking for opinions/info/help on Tahoe sound update.

UKUKUK is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Looking for opinions/info/help on Tahoe sound update.

I'm not looking at spending some retarded amount of money for something I'll probably not get to actually blast(like I want) the vast majority of the time. I have children. They will be in the vehicle with me probably 75% of my driving time. I'm completely new to doing anything this extensive; I've upgraded head units and door speakers in prior vehicles, but nothing beyond that. I only know that changing those seemed to increase the sound quality ten-fold, so going a little further only seems better.

I have decided that I want to run at 4OHM for the simple reasons of load-bearing and strain. I don't feel like swapping amps every year because it fizzles out. END.

That being said, this is what I've been looking at:

-Front doors: 6.5" JL C5-650x (75w RMS) (25-150w RMS recommended per amp channel) (298$)

-Rear doors: 6.5" JL C5-650x

-Rear: undecided, because I keep reading that 4x10's are junk. Memphis 4x10's are a possibility here. Will probably be un-amped either way; unless there happens to be a few good recommendations from the good folks here, but probably not. May convert to a different speaker size (whatever I can get in without having to modify any interior panels, because... well.. I don't feel like it). Price here doesn't really matter because they're all pretty cheap from what I've seen.

-Door Amp: Alpine MRX F65 (110w RMS per channel at 4OHMs) (228$) The reason I''ve chosen this amp is because its wattage seems pretty middle of of the road for recommended load on the speakers, and is over the speakers RMS, which I hear is better than being under.