Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Newbie here needs to upgrade sound system and does not have a clue.

mark174ace is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Newbie here needs to upgrade sound system and does not have a clue.

Good morning all. First time poster here and I am a complete dork on this stuff, but I love music. I own a 2005 Hyundai Elantra with low mileage and I plan on having it for many more years. The audio system is complete junk and factor in that the car is on the noisy side especially on the highway. I have no real desire to do any major sound dampening , I just want to upgrade my entire system (new head unit, speakers, and amplifier) and I think that will be good enough for me and my needs as I do not drive a lot, but when I do I am on the highway a lot.

I have looked at a lot of stuff on the internet and I am even more confused. Here is basically what I am looking for. I want a new head unit that has HD radio and a place to plug in my mp3 player, I could really care less about satellite radio. I want upgraded speakers which would obviously need and amp. I just want better sound. but I am not looking to blow the roof of the car, or **** off the neighborhood. I am obviously willing to spend decent money, but not break the bank.

I have no idea what type of speakers I want (2 way, 3 way blah blah) and what wattage and size I need in comparison to the stock unit in my car, what kind of amp I need etc etc. Do I really need a subwoofer and tweeters, or will the right speakers and an amp suffice? I want something of good sound quality that I can here when I am on the highway, but nothing excessive. I mostly listen to rock, blues, r&b, and sports talk.