Closed Thread

Reload Thread: New audio setup - need recommendations!

hodja is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Icon6 New audio setup - need recommendations!

Hi there,

I am a complete noob about car audio. I have a '99 Miata which has stock sound setup ( 6x8 25w Speakers on doors, 25w tweeters ) except a rather acceptable old aftermarket HU (Pioneer deh- series cdplayer) , which is a little more than average. I am planning to setup a good audio system which will provide clear and quality sound. Hi Level sound is not so important.

Free space to place an amplifier and a sub woofer is very limited so I need to be modest on my decisions. My estimated budget is 500$

I'd appreciate if I can get your opinions, experience (if you have any) & recommendations about these units or the complete setup.

Components for front doors: Alpine SPS-171A

* component speaker system includes woofers, tweeters, and crossovers
    * Layered Hybrid Fiber woofer cones with air-injected rubber surround
    * 1" textile dome tweeters swivels up to 15 (surface and flush mounting)
    * 2-way crossovers (12 dB/octave high-pass, 6 dB/octave low-pass)
    * frequency response: 35-35,000 Hz
    * power range: 8-50 watts RMS
    * peak power handling: 250 watts
    * sensitivity: 90 dB
    * mounting rings included for 6-1/2" applications
    * top-mount depth: 2-1/2"
    * warranty: 1 year

Amplifier: Alpine MRP-F300

RMS Continuous Power (at 14.4 V, 20 - 20kHz)
    Per channel into 4 ohms (≤1% THD+N)............................................ . 50 W x 4
    Per channel into 2 ohms (≤1% THD+N)............................................ . 75 W x 4
    Briged 4 ohms (≤1% THD+N)........................................... 150 W x 2
    S/N Ratio
    IHF A Weighted, Reference: rated power into 4 ohms .................................................. .. 100 dBA