Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Reload Thread: Not a total noob but not a pro either...Need some questions answered please :)

Germ305 is offline Bannęd

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    171 Post(s)

Not a total noob but not a pro either...Need some questions answered please :)

I go by the name of GeRm and reside in miami fl...this will be my first post on this forum.

I currently have a 1999 ford explorer and have a Alpine MRP-M500 Amp pushing 500rms @2ohms into a 12 inch Alpine Type-R.

The Alpine woofer seems to be damaged (Woofer sounds like something is hitting on the cone when it resonates)This happened like 2 weeks ago....if i pull the gain back on the amp its either, No bump in the car,or if i crank the gain it hits but i hear the knocking noise. I have had a audio installer listen to it and he says my woofer is gone. so right now i have the gain on 75%...Bass boost on 0...and the LP on 80hz.

Now what i am thinking of getting is this
    Amazon.com: Kicker 07DC122 Dual Comp 12-Inch 2-Ohm Subwoofers In Vented Box: Automotive

Each speaker is rated at 150w rms...which in total is 300rms @2 ohms. If i run my amp at 500rms what are the chances of me blowing those subs?. I'm sure the gain plays a factor here

Also would those 2 kickers in that box hit harder than than one alpine type-r 12 in a sealed enclosure (given the alpine wasnt damaged)?...I don't want monstrous bass...but i want enough to maybe shake the trunk a bit.

I'd appreciate the knowledge and feedback

hispls is online now CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1987 Post(s)

Re: Not a total noob but not a pro either...Need some questions answered please :)

Lurk the forum more.... You'll do much better staying away from best buy brands.

FurbiesAndBeans is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged