Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Reload Thread: new guy with $1,000 needs help.

2Gemini is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

new guy with $1,000 needs help.

Hey everyone,

First thing, sorry for the long post. I've been visiting these boards for a few months trying to get some knowledge about car audio and it has been a big help. I'm looking to do my first "real" system. Back in my teens, I've done what most have...throw a few subs in the trunk and call it a day. Now, that I'm about to hit 30 (now i feel old) I'm looking for a well rounded system that sounds good up front and out back. I've read many threads but still need some specialized assistance. I'm hoping I could get some help from everyone and hopefully can return the favor to someone else in the future.

I'm looking for a SQ setup which will go into a 99 mustang which currently has the standard 4 speaker setup using 6x8s. The music I mostly listen to is alternative, rock, and classic rock. I have a budget of $1,000 I'm willing to part with over the course of the build. I would like to start with the HU and move my way back and finish with the sub(s). Needless to say I need much help with picking the equipment. Please keep in mind that I still consider myself new to the car audio scene.

So far, I'm looking at the Kenwood Excelon for the HU. For the speakers, I would like to get some components and was thinking of getting these Alpine SPR-17S. I'm not sure what amp to power these with or if there is a better route to take and i must admit that i am completely lost when it comes to the sub(s) and subwoofer amp. I would like to have the subs to hit very hard while maintaining the sound quality if it's possible and am limited on space.

I know this isn't very much of a start, but that's what I'm hoping you all could lend me a hand with. Thanks for your time and input.

EDIT: Here is my current installation that came with the car.