Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Question about going back and forth between series and para wiring. please help

vehementSPL is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question about going back and forth between series and para wiring. please help

Now before anybody says anything... This is a stupid question blah blah blah. now shut up. I am have admitted I am very new to the electrical point of view on car audio. now to the point..

Does this hurt anything. To me I wouldn't think so. I just installed some pioneer tsw307' 12's with 200 watts each. I can clank the hell out of the subs on some low notes. And it isn't a constant clank... It is like a pulsing off and on. The subs are way under powered in a 4th order. Can't go into enclosure details but the sealed chamber is 1.33 cubes for each sub. i had one of these in 1 cube on the sealed side with 600 rms going to it and NO clanking from the sub.. KKinda confused. Somebody had mentioned doing that with the wiring can cause nonlinear movement . The subs are all wired in series to 1 ohm each. then para up to 3 ohm per set of 3 then series at the 1 amp to 1 ohm. Any ideas why this may be.

snoopdan is offline Banned

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1374 Post(s)

Re: Question about going back and forth between series and para wiring. please help

"clanking" as in a mechanical noise ? Sounds like they're bottoming out, perhaps due to subsonic filter not being adjusted properly. Without being able to hear the problem its hard to diagnose.

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Re: Question about going back and forth between series and para wiring. please help

Quote Originally Posted by snoopdan View Post