Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Reload Thread: Newb with lots of questions and looking for advice on a quoted full system for me.

geocab is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Newb with lots of questions and looking for advice on a quoted full system for me.

Hello everybody,

I went to an audio shop yesterday and I asked the shop owner what he recommended for a full system upgrade for my car, a 2003 Impala LS. After asking me a few questions about my tastes in music, and what I'm looking for he quoted a system of all Soundstream products. I'll post the estimate and I'm looking for your opinions on what was suggested to me, product-wise and if you have opinions on what other similar products I should consider. The estimate comes to a total price of around $3500 with tax, installed. I was only looking to spend around $2000. To save money, I'm not afraid to install myself, but I'll need a lot of help in that regard as well as I have no car experience whatsoever. I'm not a newb to using tools however and have no doubt that with your advice I can do this myself, but that's later down the line anyway. First I need to pick out a system!

First of all, this is what I'm looking to achieve. I'm all about sound quality, I want to be able to throw in a well recorded Jazz or classical CD and have it sound as close to a live performance as possible. I also listen to a lot of electronica/house/techno and want to be able to feel those beats. I want clean, low, high quality bass, not boomy only looking for high SPL output bass.

For my home stereo I have two Martin Logan Aeon i's and I really love the way they sound with music. They have a fantastic mid range and this is what I'd like to recreate in my car. Well, not just mids, but an overall flat response throughout the whole frequency range. I don't like harsh sounding, bright speakers, but more warm and laid back.