Closed Thread

Reload Thread: New system specs, and a few questions...

Belgarion is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Icon30 New system specs, and a few questions...

I am upgrading my factory system in a Saturn SL2 (4 door sedan) and want to make sure I am not missing something obvious.... so please, speak up if I am making a rookie mistake! I am looking for decent SQ, and plan on adding the SPL aspect later....

Here is what I have picked out:
    Alpine 7995
    US Acoustics USX4065
    Infinity Reference 605cs (front doors)
    Infinity Kappa 62.5i (rear fill)

future enhancements:
    sub(s) for the trunk
    separate amp to power the sub(s)

My questions are: does wiring the sub (I will have to mount it against the back of one of the back seats, inside the truck) require a lot of car audio knowledge? I can pickup the wiring harness and dash kit to do the HU myself (I have at least done those before), but I am a rookie when it comes to the amp. Also, I am going with the comps, even though my factory speakers are coaxial.... should I attempt cutting the door holes myself? And my understanding is that I will need to use two channels to power the comps, and 2 for the rear.... am I going to lose any sound quality from the comps that way? (should the tweeters have their own channel?)

Thanks for any advice!

Randy Savage is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)

Re: New system specs, and a few questions...

Originally posted by Belgarion
    I am upgrading my factory system in a Saturn SL2 (4 door sedan) and want to make sure I am not missing something obvious.... so please, speak up if I am making a rookie mistake! I am looking for decent SQ, and plan on adding the SPL aspect later....

Here is what I have picked out:
    Alpine 7995
    US Acoustics USX4065
    Infinity Reference 605cs (front doors)
    Infinity Kappa 62.5i (rear fill)

future enhancements:
    sub(s) for the trunk