Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Components -vs- Coaxles

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Icon33 Components -vs- Coaxles

Howdy guys. I'm a newbie and need to get a killer system so my car can blow away everyone at high school. After careful calculations, however, I have become aware that a top of the line setup might not fall within my budget. I've considered all possible options and decided to get a Kenwood receiver (KDC-MPV7019), a nice set of speakers, and a good 12" sub (Audiobahn AW1200Q) powered by a high quality amp. My problem lies in choosing the right speakers. My car is a 1981 Porsche 924, which is an extremely small hatchback, with factory 4x6 cutouts in the walls of the back seats (right behind both front seat headrests). Many people I know have just replaced their factory speakers with some decent coaxles, but every car enthusiast has recomended that I buy a strong set of components. The only thing holding me back from buying the components is some advice from a Car Toys salesman. He told me that unless I had an amp running to the components, they would probably blow. If anyone here knows if I could power a decent set of components (any set; 4"/5.25"/6.5") with a nice Kenwood deck (22w RMS x 4), please let me know. Otherwise, I will have to go with some nice coaxle speakers, or maybe a pair of plate 4x6. Also, if it is possible to drive components with the Kenwood receiver, could you leave any suggestions you have for nice sets to buy. Thanks for your help.

rco8786 is offline Studmuffin

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    blow your components if they weren't amped? they won't blow, but you won't hear much from them. if your on a budget then components probably aren't the best bet, just get some nice coaxials

Alpine 7894
    Pioneer 3-way 6x8
    MTX Thunder 4122 50W x 2
    1 E12k
    JBL BP600.1
    Custom Built V/T Box

FullThrottle7 is offline Member

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)