Closed Thread

Reload Thread: where do i place the port??

95Prober is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

where do i place the port??

hi. i have subs that ask for a sealed enclosure of 0.7 cuft. i am going to experiment on making a sealed and ported box then decideing on which one is better. it may my a waste of wood, but im new at this so i wanna at least try. now my first question is, if i went up to 1.0 cu.ft in stead of the 0.7 just for the sake of it , would it make a diference? the rason i ask is becasue i see a lot of people just using 1.0 cu.ft boxes. would it matter? also, i plan to make my boxes seperated to give each sub its own space. now i think the sealed is pretty straight foward to build, but if when i make the ported one of the same size, whichever size i choose, where would i decide to place the port , on the front besside the sub, on top top, etc. and at what lenth and diameter?? here are the subs i have :

http://pioneerelectronics.com/pna/pr...etailComponent

and here is the specs , you have to scroll down the page:
    http://www.caraudio.com/vb/showthrea...ht=TS-W1041DVC

any help would be great!!!

squeak9798 is offline Banned

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: where do i place the port??

Quote Originally Posted by 95Prober
    now my first question is, if i went up to 1.0 cu.ft in stead of the 0.7 just for the sake of it , would it make a diference? the rason i ask is becasue i see a lot of people just using 1.0 cu.ft boxes. would it matter?
    Well, yes and maybe no Yes, the larger box will make a difference in the responce and resonance of the system (because it affects what is called the Qtc ).......but this change may or may not be audible (atleast not audible to you). Best way to get a general idea of the difference is to pop it into a box program and look at the changes in the response curve and group delay.