+ Reply to Thread

Reload Thread: Need advice on building a sealed SQ enclosure for a Polk Audio SR124-DVC 12"

AztecPenguinMex is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Need advice on building a sealed SQ enclosure for a Polk Audio SR124-DVC 12"

Basically, so far I have installed the front speakers, tweeters, fronts amp, and my head unit.
    -MM6501 Speakers
    -Pioneer PRS-80

Everything is good so far, and although I do have people that can help me, they love SPL, which will work against me achieving a decent entry-level SQ system.

Like I said in the title, I'm building an enclosure for a 12" Polk SR124. I'ts new. Sub amp is a Hifonics Brutus Bx1205d D-Class.

I am a complete noob when it comes to car audio, but as an audio enthusiast am eager to learn. My main genres are hip-hop, edm, classic rock, metal (in that order). I am a slight basshead, but SPL is light years away from what I consider bassy. SPL just sounds like cr*p to me.

AztecPenguinMex
    aka
    HifiPenguin

not completely sure what i'm doing, but so far....
    Honda Passport: 2000
    Pioneer 80 PRS
    Polk MM6501
    Polk SR124 12" Sub
    Hifonics BXI 1205D AMP

Slo_Ride is offline Midnight Rider

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)

Re: Need advice on building a sealed SQ enclosure for a Polk Audio SR124-DVC 12"

About 1.2 cubic ft would be good but you are going to want a different amp .Thats a 700 watt svc sub and your amp only buts out 450 watts (maybe) at 4 ohms.

edit - i see the title says DVC! so amp will be fine, sorry.

Refs = PapaGeno21, Goindef154, 92c1v1c, Disarmer, chemmins, 97maxima, kroid777, ithertz, basscort2009, hunterw, mar08052, appleyard, millimac247, jonny101abc, sundownz, cranberryyumyum, mig139, daboyfrumdabx, skateguy92, basebalz13.

AztecPenguinMex is offline Junior Member

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: Need advice on building a sealed SQ enclosure for a Polk Audio SR124-DVC 12"