Closed Thread

Reload Thread: question about port sizes

nas786 is offline Senior VIP Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

question about port sizes

I'm pretty new to this, I've tried searching google and this forum, but can't seem to get an answer. I've been messing with a couple diff programs to help me build a ported box. I've noticed that if you have a real small port, the tuning goes much lower. Since (it seems) most boxes are shooting to be tuned in high 20's, low 30's, why would someone opt for let's say a 4" aero port vs a 2" ? As the 2" seems much more manageable (for getting lower tuning frequency) and shorter rather than doing a 4" which would require a much longer port, so what is the benefit of using a bigger diameter port?

Also, why would someone make a box with multiple ports rather than just one, as that seems to dramatically increase the tuning frequency? What's the benefit of multiple ports?

Sorry if this is common knowledge, but I really gave it an honest shot and couldn't find any answers.

frogcase2002 is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)

Re: question about port sizes

Usually bigger ports if there is port noise

Head unit- cz702
    Speakers- 4 crescendo pwx. Aq tweeters
    Mids/highs amp- ppi a600.2 and ppi a200.2
    Sub- 2 12" zcons
    enclosure- in the works
    Sub amp- aq3500
    Alt- 220 amp
    Batts- 5 c&d 75ah and 1 bt-80
    Wiring- 4 runs of 0 awg and big 3

Buck is offline always low Buck is a Supporting Member of the forum!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    254 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by nas786 View Post