Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Reload Thread: I know,another Type R Enclosure Thread, but I need some clarification.Please help.

Guaio is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Icon10 I know,another Type R Enclosure Thread, but I need some clarification.Please help.

Hey everyone. So here's the deal. I've been in the car audio game for quite a few years, but I'm no expert, I'm just an average Joe that's learned through trial and error.Over the years I have swapped out components with other components, subs with subs, boxes with boxes, but I've never tried a ported enclosure before. I've even built a few fiberglass enclosures, but all were sealed, and the first thing I'd always hear when I open my trunk is: "Dude, you shoulda gone ported"...so here I am. I've read several threads throughout this very informative forum and learned of the hundreds of designs that ported boxes come in, but I also noticed many variations in the cubic area that these Type R's should be in. So with this thread, I'm hoping you guys can finally give me a straight forward answer as ta what dimensions my ported box should be, so I can start building it. Alpine say's each chamber should be around 1.7 cubes each, but everyone on here suggests ta go up ta as big as 2.4 cubes each. So here's some of my stats ta help you guys out:

Subs: Two Alpine Type R's (500W RMS Each)
    Amp: MTX X1000D (500W x 2 RMS @ 2 Ohms)
    Trunk Space (At Most): 50" Wide
    16" High
    20" Deep
    Preferred Tune: 31-35Hz
    Music I listen too: Mostly Hip-hop/Rock
    Seats can fold down

I looked at the thread with the multiple enclosure designs, and found the closest one I could:
    Imageshack - 45cubes30hz60sqin5qi.png
    Would this work?? I take it the sizes are based off of using 3/4" MDF?? If anyones built an enclosure close ta my specs or has a betta suggestion/direction,please let me know, and if you need more info, just ask. Thanks in advance for any advice...