Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Question about the free box plans in the stickies

Pantani is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Question about the free box plans in the stickies

Is it safe to assume that these plans are going to work for just about any driver? I am new to any kind of box "designing" especially ported. I usually just follow the mfgs recommended sealed enclosure airspace requirement and go from there. I have 2 8" Rockford Fosgate HX2s and was hoping to build a box tuned at around 32hz. I've never had these guys in a ported box and was wanting to give it a shot.

dman4486 is offline Paid to Post

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: Question about the free box plans in the stickies

Every driver will respond differently and have a different "response curve" in varying enclosures. The only way to know what yours will look like is to have someone plot it for you, but I am not at my personal computer so I can not do it.

the plans are proven designs that will work, but your response for the airspace and tuning will vary.

Auto: 96 honda passport 3.2L v6 4X4 5sp
    Big 3 pics--THE MAV--THE RSD's--MY VLX
    Rices Creek Pics

Refs: Sold to; lilmaniac2, alexdbest2000, jshak07 Bought from; CJL

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Using WinISD I came up with 1.29 cu ft, tuned to 32.11hz with a square port 10.5" tall by 2" wide with a 3.092' length (I made the port height and width dimensions the same as the 1.25cu ft box plan here((http://img62.imageshack.us/my.php?im...z21sqin4qf.png)). I've just started using this program and have tried to read some tutorials, I believe I'm getting a pretty flat frequency plot. There isn't much on the T/S numbers for this driver, and it isn't a driver that is included in the stock WinISD program, but I filled in what I could find as an "own driver", still not sure if I did all that right though.