Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Remote start guru's...

Gianotti is offline UNLIMTED POWER

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Remote start guru's...

i have an 03 Dodge Diesel, just installed a Viper 5701 remote start, this is a 5spd, so you know with the new vipers you NEED tach for the RS, i cannot find tach to save my life, i am an installer, so i know what i am doin, just looking for some more input from other installers. i dont have a PCM on the side of the firewall like the autos do, i know where the ECM is on the side of the block, its not a blue/gray like the 04 and up, i have tried multiple wire ( testing ) no dice. i have tryed the Cam postion senor, no dice. you cant use virtutach or voltage, these diesel wont pick it up, i cant use the 454T? the tach generator, it wont sense the signal in enough time, i have been seaching for this thing for hours and no luck, **** i have this remote start and cant use it. any help would be great thanks!

John

Alpine
    Ohio Gen.
    Kinetik

Refs-Insaneman1731, PowerNaudio, RidgelineNate, Ryan Wallace A.K.A. Belunt, TypeRBass, btnhfan, thunder9500, SPLchoice, JD Builder, THXdts, DaGh0st, dirtyg, loudaccent, Custom98Monte, Tkitt21, jagblazer01, TheLow, KorpzJuggalo, _JaY_, KAC1023, fletch, Louisiana_CRX, NeverEnuffBass, carssnut, SPY, Alter Ego Trip

jakepatch is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: Remote start guru's...

I ran into this problem on a 2002 Ram about a month ago. I ended up loking at the wire diagram for a 2001. Seems odd that your 2003 would be the same, but maybe worth a shot. On the 2001 there is 2 black plugs right about in middle of the firewall, right above the motor, one of them has a white insert in it. In the plug WITHOUT the white insert, there will be a orange/black wire for the wait to start light, and a gray/black wire for tach. Hopefully this helps.

2001 Hyundia XG300
    4- 10" Memphis Subs
    6.5" Soundstream components up front