Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Acura RSX SQ Build (Linear Power, Xtant, Alpine)

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Acura RSX SQ Build (Linear Power, Xtant, Alpine)

Okay so after a long time searching I was finally able to put together my first SQ build. I got all 3 amps for under $300 on local CL. I am a college student so this hobby is kinda expensive along with car mods. I was very pleased with this find. My previous setup was more SPL oriented, which consisted of kicker amplifiers and alpine type r subs. I ran my old setup with an rfq-5000 dolby pro-logic surround sound processor. Here are some pics of the old gear.

Old Gear
    Kicker 350.4
    Kicker 1500.1
    Rfq-5000

After purchasing the amps I figured I would go with a new processor. I had previously heard a setup with an Alpine imprint and soon as I heard it I knew I would be buying one in the future. I kept my speakers the same which consists of ctx image dynamics up front and pioneer 3-ways in the rear. Here are some shots of the new gear that got swapped in.

New Gear
    Linear Power 952 X 2
    Xtant x1001
    Alpine Pxa-H100

My Baby

Just Some noticeable Comparisons
    Linear Power 952 vs Kicker 350.4 This amp swap was a day and night difference in my opinion. The linear power amp sounds so warm and live sounding. I can literally hear sounds with this setup that I could vaguely or not even hear before. Its nice to finally know what clean power sounds like.

Xtant x1001 vs Kicker 1500.1 Now obviously the kicker amp had more power than the Xtant. However, the Xtant sounds better in almost everyway. The Bass is much tighter and more responsive. It actualy sounds more like a drum and not just a thud. After riding around with the Xtant amp a couple days I put the kicker back in to compare and it sounded muddy. So im definitely going to keep the Xtant in this setup.

Alpine Pxa-H100 vs. Fosgate RFQ-5000