PDA

View Full Version : Ported fiberglass box.....

Zacmc212
05-14-2005, 01:38 AM
I have been searching through and reading lots of helpful posts on ported fiberglass enclosures. Most people say that you should make the box first, aim alittle high on the internal volume and figure out port length from there. But once it is built and you figure out the internal volume how do you add the port? Im sorry if this didnt make much sense its kinda hard to explain....and im new to glassing. Thanks.

Zacmc212
05-14-2005, 04:01 PM
anyone?

GCAdidas13
05-14-2005, 04:30 PM
It's all guesswork until it's actually built. Guess how many cubic feet you are going to have NET when you finish glassing, then make the port about 10 inches longer than what you think it should be.

Then, when you build the box, tape off the port from the inside and fill it with packaging peanuts. Then you can find the actual volume of your box.

After you have the actual volume of your box, you can find out what you're tuned to, and if you are tuned too low you can always raise the tuning by reaching into your subwoofer hole(s) and cutting excess port off with a jigsaw or something.

That's just what I would do, though.

CntInjaDisNinja
05-14-2005, 05:53 PM
make the box first

measure the internal volume with with packing penuts or water. When you find that buy a 3" or 4" hole cutter for your drill and then add the proper port length with PVC pipe.

ruckus
05-14-2005, 06:34 PM
make the box first

measure the internal volume with with packing penuts or water. When you find that buy a 3" or 4" hole cutter for your drill and then add the proper port length with PVC pipe. yup. Thats what im doing and I'll be using flange ends and fibering them smoothed out into the body of the box.

Zacmc212
05-14-2005, 09:38 PM
It's all guesswork until it's actually built. Guess how many cubic feet you are going to have NET when you finish glassing, then make the port about 10 inches longer than what you think it should be.