PDA

View Full Version : what the hell is the sub displacement?



SenateS684
05-11-2005, 10:42 PM
So I guess I need to know the sub displacement for the box design, but I have no idea what it is...any help? The subs are 12" re re's. Is there a abbervation or something for the sub displacement?

Moe Lester
05-11-2005, 10:43 PM
its something like .08 or .1 cu. ft.

AzGrower
05-11-2005, 10:45 PM
Usually 12s will run around 0.06-0.07 cu feet. The more powerful subs, like the RE XXX will be larger due to its extra grande magnets.

Beat_Dominator
05-11-2005, 10:48 PM
It is the ammount of space inside the box that the sup displaces. Let's say you want a 1.0 cu.ft. box.

If you make a 1.0cu.ft. box and have a sub that displaces .1 cu.ft. You'll end up with a .9cu.ft. net....which would mess up the tune.

AzGrower
05-11-2005, 10:49 PM
It is the ammount of space inside the box that the sup displaces. Let's say you want a 1.0 cu.ft. box.

If you make a 1.0cu.ft. box and have a sub that displaces .1 cu.ft. You'll end up with a .9cu.ft. net....which would mess up the tune.

I think he was asking about the RE12s displacement, not what the term "sub displacment" meant. At least I hope he meant that.

Beat_Dominator
05-11-2005, 10:52 PM
Yeah, I did that just in case he wanted to know a more basic question :p:

SenateS684
05-11-2005, 10:53 PM
Thanks guys, I appericate it. If I just use .07cu feet will it cause any problems? I dont have to be 'exact' do I?

AzGrower
05-11-2005, 10:59 PM
Not for a sealed enclosure, you can actually be up to 10% off on total cubic feet and still have great sound. A ported box is much more sensitive.

Why not call RE??? Contact info is on www.reaudio.com