PDA

View Full Version : A bunch of questions about horns...

the_noob
05-07-2005, 09:10 PM
I've been thinking and reading again, so, of course, I am confused :crazy: . I know I listen to 100% metal, so, I'm now starting to realize that 145 db's of bass may not satisfy me(i.e.--it may be too much). I'm hoping to get some xxx mids to be used as midbass/midrange and make kicks for them.

So anyway, in the course of all this, I ended up reading a lot about horns. Specifically, the ID cd1 pro's because they can be had at just over ~$300. So, if I get a head-unit that will give me about 18 watts x 4, using 18 x 2 for the horns and 18 x 2 for the stock rears, would the amp even be needed? At least, for the horns--the sub(s) and mids would be properly powered. The Id's are 8 ohms, just to let you know.

The problem is also this: I am a complete noob(see name). I know very little about car audio. I know horns go under the dash, however, I have no idea on how to mount them. Would I have to do any drilling into my dash to mount them? I do have plenty of space, though. I am also poor, 16, and have no money, so any purchases will not be made until I can find a job :crying: .

Finally, what kind of xover would I be looking at? Or, without an amp, would it be ok to just use the xover on the head unit, assuming it has one :confused: . Sorry for such a long post, but any help would be much appreciated.

Beat_Dominator
05-07-2005, 09:20 PM
Well for some of your questions...

Yes, you will have to cut into your dash most likely. Horns are very big, that's why you rarely see them. I guess if you got lucky and your dash was JUST right, you could fit them without much trouble.

If you want the quality it's still a good idea to use an amp. A 50x4 amp would put out close to 25w a channel into 8ohm.