PDA

View Full Version : Boston Acoustic Z6



mkell
05-06-2005, 09:01 PM
I am looking into getting the Boston Acoustic Z6's for my front doors. Since these are 3ohm speakers, what ohm rating do I need to run from an amp? I am trying to figure out what amps I need to look at b/c I have no idea what goes with 3ohms. Thanks!

-Matt

squeak9798
05-06-2005, 10:45 PM
Everything goes with 3ohm....you'll be fine with anything. I had Boston Pro's (also 3ohm), and ran them for over a year on an amp that WAS NOT stable below 4ohm/channel :) Never had a single problem......

mkell
05-06-2005, 11:48 PM
Thanks. Should I run them at 400w (which is supposed to be the max for the Z6) ir should I back it down a little?

RCwhat
05-07-2005, 01:25 AM
give it too them and watch them sing...BA's love power.

stangme01
05-07-2005, 01:48 AM
great speakers, wish i had that kinda loot to spare :D

AllStar1500bd
05-07-2005, 04:18 AM
I'll be installing my set of Z6's in about 3 weeks.

squeak9798
05-07-2005, 12:34 PM
Thanks. Should I run them at 400w (which is supposed to be the max for the Z6) ir should I back it down a little?

BA's do love power :up2somet: I had a 400w x 2 @ 4ohm amp strapped to my BA Pro's, and they loved it. I would go with the 400w, and then just back it off a little if you need.

mkell
05-07-2005, 06:51 PM
Thanks for all your input! Do you guys have any recomendations for amps that can do 400w? Also, 2ohm or 4ohm?

Schuey2002
05-07-2005, 07:00 PM
I had Boston Pro's (also 3ohm), and ran them for over a year. .. Never had a single problem..

Squeak, after reading a bunch of your posts, you keep mentioning those BA Pro's in the past tense. Why aren't you still running them? ;)

squeak9798
05-07-2005, 09:09 PM
Squeak, after reading a bunch of your posts, you keep mentioning those BA Pro's in the past tense. Why aren't you still running them? ;)


LOL....No reason other than I like trying out new stuff :D


Originally sold them to go active DIY, but then I bought a house and a bunch of other things happened. So, about a year and a half after I sold them (ran stockers that entire time :crap: ), I decided I wanted to try out horns instead of going DIY with "standard" drivers :)

squeak9798
05-07-2005, 09:13 PM
Thanks for all your input! Do you guys have any recomendations for amps that can do 400w? Also, 2ohm or 4ohm?


I ran an Eclipse 34230 to my Pro's. Not in production anymore, but you can pick them up on egay for pretty decent prices. 400w x 2 @ 4ohm :) Excellent, excellent amps. Just be aware that they are not very flexible....they ARE NOT stable below 4ohm per channel and ARE NOT bridgeable. But, like I said...ran my "3ohm" Pro's just fine.

stangme01
05-08-2005, 12:34 AM
The new pros are alot better IMO should try those out.

mkell
05-08-2005, 11:55 AM
Isn't the Eclipse 34230 2x 370w @ 4ohms, and not 400w?

squeak9798
05-08-2005, 01:08 PM
Isn't the Eclipse 34230 2x 370w @ 4ohms, and not 400w?

They're underrated. They put out right near 400w RMS per channel.

But yes, that's the amp :)

mkell
05-08-2005, 01:15 PM
Wow, there's one on ebay going for $150. Would you trust ebay as a source?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=18796&item=5772885644&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

squeak9798
05-08-2005, 01:17 PM
That person's received 49 positive feedbacks, and 0 negative. However, they have 0 feedback as a seller.

I dunno...for the right price, I'd probably go for it.

mkell
05-08-2005, 01:25 PM
Would you see no warranty as a risk? I guess for the price, it'sn not a huge assesment.

squeak9798
05-08-2005, 01:26 PM
Considering those aren't in production....finding one with a warranty will be hard :)

But those are solid amps. If it's still NIB (that one looks to be), then you shouldn't have any problems with it.

mkell
05-08-2005, 02:04 PM
I wasn't implying that I could find one with warranty ;) Definately going to have to think about this one.

While on the topic of warranty, do you know what Boston Acoustics is on the Z6?

stangme01
05-08-2005, 02:16 PM
That line of Eclipse amps are so great for front stage amps, probably some of my favorite i've ever used.

And yeah its hard to say about that seller. I don't see someone trying to rip someone off only for a $150 item though. If someone would risk that you'd think it would be for something more expensive.

HERETIC
05-08-2005, 02:37 PM
I ran an Eclipse 34230 to my Pro's. Not in production anymore, but you can pick them up on egay for pretty decent prices. 400w x 2 @ 4ohm :) Excellent, excellent amps. Just be aware that they are not very flexible....they ARE NOT stable below 4ohm per channel and ARE NOT bridgeable. But, like I said...ran my "3ohm" Pro's just fine.


hey does that amp have a hi and lo pass filter? i bought a eclipse pa4212 and i didnt have a hi pass filter. that amp put out too much bass to power my old perfects- dintnt like the full range at all. i got some cdt es-620's that are lacking in midbass and im powering them with a dls A3 and i dont think that amp is powerful enough.


sorry for going off topic. yes the z series rule but you got to give them alot of power- built like tanks!!!

stangme01
05-08-2005, 02:45 PM
yes it does have crossovers for hi/low pass. I used to have the 4-channel version of that amp.
Basically its the 4-channel already bridged down for you.

HERETIC
05-08-2005, 03:31 PM
i noticed with my old eclipse amp it would make the speakers distort when you cranked the up if the volume was loud- is that the built in capasitors in the amp that causes it to do that? i had good ground and 0/1 gauge wire, i never could figure out why it did that

stangme01
05-08-2005, 03:40 PM
i noticed with my old eclipse amp it would make the speakers distort when you cranked the up if the volume was loud- is that the built in capasitors in the amp that causes it to do that? i had good ground and 0/1 gauge wire, i never could figure out why it did that

This amp?

HERETIC
05-08-2005, 03:46 PM
This amp?



no the pa4212 eclipse 2ch. i was about 135x2@4ohm

stangme01
05-08-2005, 03:55 PM
hmm weird

HERETIC
05-08-2005, 03:57 PM
i wish dls made a strong 2ch over 300 rms. maybe get a 4ch and bridge it to get more power

squeak9798
05-08-2005, 03:57 PM
i noticed with my old eclipse amp it would make the speakers distort when you cranked the up if the volume was loud- is that the built in capasitors in the amp that causes it to do that?

Probably just overdriving the speakers ;)

HERETIC
05-08-2005, 04:04 PM
Probably just overdriving the speakers ;)


would it be stupid to bridge my dls A3 to power those cdt's i got?


ULTIMATE series A3 is a two-channel amplifier rated at 2 x 100 Watts. A true, dual mono block with separate power sources that provides typical output of 2 x 150 Watts with 4 ohm stereo and 550/870 Watts with 4/2 ohm mono.
Built-in fan control. Built-in, variable 50-125 Hz switchable low-pass filter for subwoofers. Built-in variable 20-200 Hz. high-pass filter that can be used as a subsonic filter or high-pass filter for front systems. Dual power terminals where you can connect dual power feeds or a DLS Power Cap. Button for switching phases when you use it as a subwoofer amplifier.


RMS output per channel at 13,8 volts, 20 Hz - 20 kHz , < 0,1% distortion.
Mode : AB
Number of channels : 2
Nominal power in 4 ohm : 2 x 100 Watt
Typical power in 4 ohm : 2 x 150 watt
Typical power in 2 ohm : 2 x 270 Watt
Typical power in 1 ohm : 2 x 425 Watt
Typical power in 4 ohm bridge mode : 550 Watt
Typical power in 2 ohm bridge mode : 870 Watt
Typical power in 1,33 ohm bridge mode : 1000 watt
S / N ratio, A-weighted : > 100 dB
Damping factor : > 200
Input impedance : > 10 kohm
Input sensitivity, variable : 0,2 - 7 V
Filter, highpass, variable : 20 - 200 Hz
Filter lowpass, variable : 50-125 Hz
Terminal for external cooling fan : Yes
Double DC-inputs : Yes
Phase shift button : Yes
Current draw, idle : 1,1 A
Current draw, maximum : 140 A
Dimensions W x D x H : 410 x 240 x 73 mm (16,15 x 9,45 x 2,87 inch)

stangme01
05-09-2005, 12:20 AM
i wish dls made a strong 2ch over 300 rms. maybe get a 4ch and bridge it to get more power

Should get a Boston amp too those amps are great, my local shop sells alot of em, very powerful. Get that boston 1000 or whatever.