PDA

View Full Version : 1" Dome Tweeter



ss3079
04-11-2005, 08:44 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=264-527

Need a tweeter very similar to that one, however, cheaper.

6ohm.
~1500-25, 000hz
Fs ~ 750hz
91 db 1w/1m

Something to work well with two 7's and two 5 1/4's in a tower.

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=264-524
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=297-416 - would work, but power handling = :crying:

Any suggestions?

UndercoverPunk
04-11-2005, 08:51 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=277-052

PV Audio
04-11-2005, 08:51 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=275-030

if ur disappointed with that one, then theres something wrong. beautiful highs for the price

ss3079
04-11-2005, 08:54 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=277-052

:up2somet:

ss3079
04-11-2005, 08:55 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=275-030

if ur disappointed with that one, then theres something wrong. beautiful highs for the price

Thanks for the link. I can spring for something a little more expensive if you were looking to suggest something more than five bucks a pop. I should have clarified that - I don't mind spending 15-20 bucks or so per tweet.

PV Audio
04-11-2005, 09:18 PM
Thanks for the link. I can spring for something a little more expensive if you were looking to suggest something more than five bucks a pop. I should have clarified that - I don't mind spending 15-20 bucks or so per tweet.
...what if u don't need anything more expensive ;)

but in that case

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=275-100

i'm using ^^^ the next time i need tweeters, they are so crisp and smooth.

JimJ
04-11-2005, 09:56 PM
Horns? :)

AznRevlAzn
04-11-2005, 09:57 PM
invest in a silk dome it's worth it :D

ss3079
04-11-2005, 09:57 PM
Price?
Would have to design a new crossover ... sooooo ... ugh.

JimJ
04-11-2005, 10:01 PM
That's what you get for going three-way :)

*thwwwwppt*

ss3079
04-11-2005, 10:02 PM
I've gotta make a decision ... need the cutout diameter ASAP (read: tomorrow or the next day)

ss3079
04-11-2005, 10:03 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=264-524

might just have to work ...

PV Audio
04-11-2005, 10:16 PM
if its that much of an inconvience, i'd just go with jim and say horns. a 3-way design, imo, is inferior to a good 2-way. they have better imaging, easier to build, and sound just as good depending on the enclosure.

JimJ
04-11-2005, 10:21 PM
1way > 2way > 3way > micheal jackson.

'nuff said :)

ss3079
04-11-2005, 10:24 PM
The towers are already pretty much built.

I'm playing with the CNC router tomorrow ... hopefully get a program set up to cut the holes.

Yes, I could use a jigsaw.
Yes, I could use a router.

But there's a CNC, so why the hell not ? :p:

JimJ
04-11-2005, 10:25 PM
CNC...:drool:

PV Audio
04-11-2005, 10:28 PM
The towers are already pretty much built.

I'm playing with the CNC router tomorrow ... hopefully get a program set up to cut the holes.

Yes, I could use a jigsaw.
Yes, I could use a router.

But there's a CNC, so why the hell not ? :p:
i wanna router........................... :crying:

XtrmAudioCncpts
04-11-2005, 10:31 PM
CNC...:drool:
:iagree:

ss3079
04-12-2005, 10:30 AM
Hmmm ... maybe I'll get some CNC pr0n ;)

We'll see how far I get with the program today. It's one of those things ... takes more time to do the program than the actual cut time itself.

JimJ
04-12-2005, 11:02 AM
maybe I'll get some CNC pr0n

You tease.

ss3079
04-12-2005, 05:39 PM
Creating this program is a pain in the ***. It's CAD based (at least I think so) ... save the file as a T9M or something crazy like that. Figured out how to do a rectangle today ;)

PV Audio
04-12-2005, 06:06 PM
git 'er done!

ss3079
04-12-2005, 06:07 PM
Gotta figure out how to draw circles first. There is no circle option, just arcs and fillets ... so I guess I'll draw an arc, mirror it, and place the circle on the rectangle.

PV Audio
04-12-2005, 06:09 PM
Gotta figure out how to draw circles first. There is no circle option, just arcs and fillets ... so I guess I'll draw an arc, mirror it, and place the circle on the rectangle.
over time, i have found that the most high tech equipment gets the job done best:

pencil
ruler
compass(laugh it up nosaj)

ss3079
04-12-2005, 06:18 PM
You're right.

I have all of the circles drawn out ... could've had the towers done today if I used a jigsaw. But, I want to play with the router ;)

PV Audio
04-12-2005, 06:20 PM
You're right.

I have all of the circles drawn out ... could've had the towers done today if I used a jigsaw. But, I want to play with the router ;)
tell me how it goes, i hated cutting my circles with a jigsaw, royal pain in teh rear

ss3079
04-12-2005, 06:22 PM
Once you design the cut program it's a piece of cake.