PDA

View Full Version : Port Help Please



BoomCrew
04-06-2005, 12:55 AM
i have a box with dimensions of 36 wide, 15 deep and 14.5 high. i need to know how long to make the port for a tuning in the 35hz range. im putting 2 12 re re's in them. i have the box made at those dimensions. also the port is 4 wide and 12 how i just need to know how long to mke it. thanks

bcarpenterfhl
04-06-2005, 01:05 AM
1 4 inch port? what's the sub displacement?

BoomCrew
04-06-2005, 11:17 AM
the port is 4wide and 12 high

SPL140.2
04-06-2005, 12:30 PM
With your dimensions after sub displacement I got 3.30 cub ft. I took .20 for sub displacement cause i dont really know what it is on those subs. But anyways this is what I came up with:

Slot Port tuned to 35hz---->24.28" long
If its not a slot port----->26.28" long

As you can see though you dont have enough depth for the ports. You can use an L style port but you have to keep the same dimensions width and high at the bend of the L.

Hope that helps. ;)

BoomCrew
04-06-2005, 03:15 PM
sounds good to me, and thanks for the help

swimfreak26
04-06-2005, 03:52 PM
You're going to need a lot longer port than that...with rough estimates, you'll be seeing just around 2 cubes with a port nearing 50"....not too practical.

This is assuming that you're giving external dimensions.

BoomCrew
04-06-2005, 05:19 PM
if i need more than how much more do i need? the port will be 12x24x4

swimfreak26
04-06-2005, 05:59 PM
With a port that size, you're going to end up with an internal volume of 2.72 ft^3, minus driver displacement. For that we'll say about .2 cubes, so you're ending up with 2.52 ft^3 after all displacements. A port that size in 2.52 cubes tunes the box to right around 41 ish Hz...