PDA

View Full Version : Too big a box???



Decipha
04-01-2005, 10:30 PM
I just bought 2 Rockford Fosgate Series 1 12's (P112S4) and i want a box that will boom like no other. I was wondering if I put them in too big of a box would they sound good? I was thinking about building a sealed 5 cu per sub box. What do yall think?

Nukedsodapop
04-02-2005, 12:20 AM
It would probably get low

iamamp3pimp
04-02-2005, 12:56 AM
i think tahts a little too big for those subs

what u powering em with?

Decipha
04-02-2005, 04:40 AM
im pushing them with a rockford 500bd amp

klassic
04-02-2005, 08:53 AM
you wont be able to put any decent amount of power to them or you will cause over excursion. Running a grossly large box will be almost like running them infinately baffled. Not really a good idea. If you want a box to boom like no other you should be doing a ported box. If you want low end extension and control at the cost of less SPL then build a sealed box to manufacturer's specs. two twelves in a sealed box will get plenty loud so I'd just build it to manufacturer's specs and save 3 cu ft. of space.