PDA

View Full Version : what if i plug my port



Naxis2k1
03-30-2005, 07:14 PM
ok i plan on plugging my port temporaily just to see how it will sounds. my only concern is the box is 3.5(net) with 51^2 of port this is rather large for my avalanche 15 for sealed box. iam sending it 1000 watts rms through a mtx942
should i be concered about damaging this driver or will i be ok?

jellyfish420
03-30-2005, 11:33 PM
to seal it off and still have 3.5ft^3 you would have to seal the inside of the port(from inside the box)
if not you're box will end up 4.xxft^3 because when you seal the outside end of the port then, all the are in the port becomes part of the sealed box.....

Moe Lester
03-30-2005, 11:39 PM
his box will end up being more like 5 cubes lol, the port is very long ;)

if you do seal it off, i would definately lower your gain so that it sees 500ish watts.

req
03-30-2005, 11:55 PM
id plug it, then id turn the gain down low, and then turn it up to an acceptable leve and test SQ and SPL...

ive thought about doing that.

bcarpenterfhl
03-31-2005, 03:09 AM
why not just fill up the inside of the box as well to aquire the volume you want.

Naxis2k1
03-31-2005, 05:27 AM
i want it to be a temp port plug i think ill take the first suggestion and plug the inside because my port is very long hehe( thanks moe). now with 3.5 cubes before displacment and 1000w going to it should i be scared? people do throw 1500 watts(vented) at this sub daily and it takes it like a champ( and they got bigger box than i do).

iam just doing this to see how much of a sq dif iam going to notice and see if maybe i want a sealed setup instead. not to say i dont like my box now(blows me away everytime) but you guys know how it is, you get board one day and get a idea hehe.

Moe Lester
03-31-2005, 11:19 PM
thermally it may handle that wattage, but mechanically, it isnt going to like it as much.

Naxis2k1
03-31-2005, 11:28 PM
your so right i just did it today and it sounds like ****. ohhh well, ported is for real men any how :up2somet:

jellyfish420
03-31-2005, 11:43 PM
your so right i just did it today and it sounds like ****. ohhh well, ported is for real men any how :up2somet:
did you seal it up real good? i did the same thing the other day... i sealed the inside of my port to see how it would sound sealed, cause i'm building a new box and i wanted to see which route i wanted to go. either way...i didn't have any caulk so i just screwed it there. it sounded like ***! so the next day i went out and got caulk, and it sounds way better! i noticed a little drop in output, but alot more low end....my conclusion is LOW TUNED PORTED boxes are for me:up2somet:

Naxis2k1
04-01-2005, 04:36 AM
yeah i caulk it real good nice and sealed. but still not happy with the output at all...
low tuned ported enclouser are for me as well.

supa_c
04-01-2005, 05:29 AM
pshh, i could've told you both that !
SQ ported is the best way to go.

Naxis2k1
04-01-2005, 01:05 PM
well were the f-ck were you yesterday....

supa_c
04-01-2005, 05:45 PM
i was at ssa :D

iamamp3pimp
04-02-2005, 12:58 AM
my conclusion is LOW TUNED PORTED boxes are for me:up2somet:
me 2