PDA

View Full Version : box



jellyfish420
03-29-2005, 07:40 PM
take a look at this and tell me what you think.
its for my 2 RL-p 15's. its 5ft^3 net @ 28Hz w/ 70" port.
http://img165.exs.cx/img165/6010/2rlp15right6up.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

bcarpenterfhl
03-29-2005, 10:08 PM
i think it looks really cool. and original. the only thing i would do differently is make the port end flush with the bottom part, angeled the same at all. if you have it, try putting that in sketchup, so you could get a better feel for what the box will look like.

netherland24
03-29-2005, 10:10 PM
hey bcarpenterfhl i cant click on the enclosure i really likes it

req
03-29-2005, 10:55 PM
yea jelly, looks good

3d it mang.

jellyfish420
03-29-2005, 11:25 PM
i think it looks really cool. and original. the only thing i would do differently is make the port end flush with the bottom part, angeled the same at all. if you have it, try putting that in sketchup, so you could get a better feel for what the box will look like.
if i make the port shorter...it will affect my tuning:( and i don't want the box any smaller than 5ft.

if anyone wants to 3d it for me i'd appreciate it:)
i would love to see it. that is a scale drawing;)

one more question...my port was 35.5" x 2" which clearly is more that the 9:1 optimal ratio. so if i put a 'divider' in the port in the center it would make 2 ports that are 17.375" x 2" which would cutting it close...but would still be under 9:1:)
but would that be ok?

jellyfish420
03-30-2005, 02:51 PM
up

bcarpenterfhl
03-30-2005, 03:11 PM
i'm bored, i'll attempt to 3D your enclosure. some angles would be helpful though.

bcarpenterfhl
03-30-2005, 03:13 PM
actually, all the measurements would be helpful

DFW40
03-30-2005, 03:18 PM
That would be risky with that much surface area for the air to go over. It would definately slow down the velocity of the air.

jellyfish420
03-30-2005, 06:03 PM
actually, all the measurements would be helpful
i havent gotten that far yet:( i was gonna do that tonite.
the pic is drawn to scale. 1 box = 1 inch. 37" wide.
but as far as sitting down and figuring the angles and all that jazz...:crap: not yet

JimJ
03-30-2005, 06:07 PM
You said it was to scale?

Use a protractor, you clod :D

jellyfish420
03-30-2005, 07:20 PM
You said it was to scale?

Use a protractor, you clod :D
i used the flat side of the protractor to make the lines strait;)

i just havent sat down to 'write down' what everything is....
i'm trying to take my time, cause when i try to rush **** it ALWAYS gets
fu(ked up!

bcarpenterfhl
03-31-2005, 02:40 AM
your drawing is two dimension. to make a 3 dimensional sketch, i need the third dimension (width).

also, a lot of the lines go diagnol, and i cant tell how long they are. but as soon as you get some specs, i'll do it.

jellyfish420
03-31-2005, 07:59 AM
your drawing is two dimension. to make a 3 dimensional sketch, i need the third dimension (width).

also, a lot of the lines go diagnol, and i cant tell how long they are. but as soon as you get some specs, i'll do it.
i'll do it today at work...

req
03-31-2005, 08:10 AM
make sure you know the angle of your seat too.

jellyfish420
03-31-2005, 02:59 PM
make sure you know the angle of your seat too.
i've already built a couple boxes that fit against the seat, so that angle isn't a problem...IIRC its about 16...

saywhat?
03-31-2005, 03:02 PM
wtf is IIRC?

req
03-31-2005, 03:57 PM
if i recall correctly :)

jellyfish420
03-31-2005, 06:10 PM
wtf is IIRC?
WHAT THE FU(K is wtf?;)

jellyfish420
03-31-2005, 06:30 PM
ok...i'm ready for sketchup;) here is all the measurements. its 37" wide(external) and there will be a 3/4 inch brace that runs down the center of the port and stops at the end. if i forgot something or something looks wrong PLEASE tell me:blush:
http://img61.exs.cx/img61/6725/2rlp15meas2bd.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

jellyfish420
04-01-2005, 08:08 AM
so i guess noones gonna sketch it....:(

i guess i'll just have to wait till i build it:up2somet:

bcarpenterfhl
04-01-2005, 12:24 PM
uhh i woke up 20 minutes ago hold up. i'll get right on it.

bcarpenterfhl
04-01-2005, 12:46 PM
hey the dimensions you posted have to be wrong. its not working out. maybe its just me.

req
04-01-2005, 12:57 PM
its prolly wrong. its very hard to sketch (on paper) somthing like that with human error.

thats why i always start with cad to begin with. jelly, PM me and ill get in touch with you about somthing.

jellyfish420
04-01-2005, 03:11 PM
hey the dimensions you posted have to be wrong. its not working out. maybe its just me.
they probably are. i didn't sit down and actually calculate the numbers. i just used a ruler:( being 1/4 scale i had to round numbers to the nearest 1/4 inch, give or take the width of the pencil line....which in my case is up to 1/2" (scale) in some spots:blush:

req
04-02-2005, 01:16 AM
hey the dimensions you posted have to be wrong. its not working out. maybe its just me.

surprisingly, he was almost 100% accurate, but he calculated the volume wrong. and the 'baffle' where the subs are gonna be mounted was like 15.93" instead of 16 :)

like i said, he was VERY accurate. and thats hard to do with pencil and paper. props jelly.

if the box is 37" wide, its just about 5.9 cubes. the tuning is closer to 25hz.

http://img155.exs.cx/img155/6275/jellybox6ok.gif

everything is just about dead on. angles are exactly as in your picture. if you want, i can dimension all the angles for you so you know how you have to cut them too.

and if i knew how - i could extrude this shape to make a '3d box' but i forget how that works. so feck it. :yumyum:

Rawr-DQ
04-02-2005, 01:48 AM
What programs do you guys use, I'd like to buy a copy.

bcarpenterfhl
04-02-2005, 01:50 AM
i just use the one i wrote for the ti-83 graphing calc. bbp6 is useless when you have an unstraight port.

Rawr-DQ
04-02-2005, 01:51 AM
bass box pro 6?

what do you use to do the 3d layouts?

bcarpenterfhl
04-02-2005, 01:52 AM
surprisingly, he was almost 100% accurate, but he calculated the volume wrong. and the 'baffle' where the subs are gonna be mounted was like 15.93" instead of 16 :)

like i said, he was VERY accurate. and thats hard to do with pencil and paper. props jelly.

if the box is 37" wide, its just about 5.9 cubes. the tuning is closer to 25hz.

http://img155.exs.cx/img155/6275/jellybox6ok.gif

everything is just about dead on. angles are exactly as in your picture. if you want, i can dimension all the angles for you so you know how you have to cut them too.

and if i knew how - i could extrude this shape to make a '3d box' but i forget how that works. so feck it. :yumyum:.

**** your right. i put in 130 degrees instead of 150. god dam spring break ;)

Rawr-DQ
04-02-2005, 02:39 AM
Ack double post...nice design though.

jellyfish420
04-02-2005, 07:17 AM
YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!
i was wanting closer to 6ft in the first place! and 25Hz...woo-hoo!
thanks req!