PDA

View Full Version : computer sound system



wErd
03-25-2005, 02:35 AM
my computer speakers ****, so over spring break while i have some free time id like to take out my speakers from my car and hook them up to my computer. how would i go about doing this, i have CDT CL 61A's, and if possible i might also want to hook up an RE 12. the computer is a HP and thats about all i know about it.

and would i need to put my 6.5's in a box?

91ser
03-25-2005, 02:50 AM
hook them up to your computer how???

i had a home theater reciever that was hooked up to my computer, then speakers to that, but a computer doesnt put on anywhere near enuf power to power car speakers, dont try it, not worth it

just get a nice set of logitech or klipsch speakers

91ser
03-25-2005, 02:51 AM
also, if u have an HP then u dont need to be messing with it :)

HP = s h i t

srry, i build my own, MUCH higher quality and much cheaper

JimJ
03-25-2005, 03:48 AM
Yeah, but he's already got it, so might as well put it to some use.

Get a 1/8" stereo phone-to-RCA's adapter, and plug the RCA's into a regular integrated amplifier or receiver. Hook up your speakers as normal.

wErd
03-25-2005, 03:51 AM
Yeah, but he's already got it, so might as well put it to some use.

Get a 1/8" stereo phone-to-RCA's adapter, and plug the RCA's into a regular integrated amplifier or receiver. Hook up your speakers as normal.


well couldnt i just hook it up to my CD player like normal?

JimJ
03-25-2005, 03:53 AM
CD player?

I thought you were using a computer...the output from the sound card is line level, not speaker (high) level...you need an external amp.

maybe I'm just not understanding you...I also moved this to Home Audio, hopefully gets a few more replies.

wErd
03-25-2005, 04:00 AM
well i wanted to hook it up to my computer but i dont want to buy anything.

so couldnt i just hook the speakers up to my CD player?

JimJ
03-25-2005, 04:02 AM
No...just like you couldn't hook speakers up to the preamp outputs of your head unit.

You need an amp.

wErd
03-25-2005, 04:29 AM
so the internal amp in the cd player wouldnt be enough? i dont want it to be stupid loud, i just want it to sound better.

JimJ
03-25-2005, 04:32 AM
Think of the CD player as just being a component...you need an external power amplifier just like you do in a vehicle.

wErd
03-25-2005, 04:34 AM
why cant i just hook up the wires from my 6.5s and tweets to the cd player? give me a reason so i can fully understand.

JimJ
03-25-2005, 04:37 AM
Because it's a line level output. Doesn't have enough power, and not at the right impedance, to drive loudspeakers. You wouldn't run your components directly off the preamp outputs of your head unit, why would you directly run a CD player like that?

wErd
03-25-2005, 04:39 AM
how much does an amp cost that i would need? just a regular car audio amp? or some homeaudio thing? thanks for the help dude.

JimJ
03-25-2005, 04:41 AM
I know RadioShack used to sell a small 30x2W desktop integrated amp for around 50 bucks, but I don't know if that's been discontinued. Check Ebay for good deals, otherwise...