PDA

View Full Version : Tuning a Bandpass?



Nismo1
03-23-2005, 07:43 PM
Hey whats up i have a few questions.First can a bandpass be tuned?If so i have a box with two 10s,the box is 26" long 14" deep 12" high.It has four ports that are 3".I want this box to hit as clean and low as it can.So any opinions.Im sorry if its a noob question but im new to the audio department.

InhumanAcura
03-23-2005, 07:51 PM
yes, it can be tuned

80INCHES
03-23-2005, 08:18 PM
um to be honest with u.......your best bet is to throw away that box......from the desription of that box i knew right away its a pre-fab...and it will not sound good even if u put a 500dollar 10inch speaker in there.....why dont u just get a bandpass box custom build to the speakers specs and then we can talk about tuning


80

squeak9798
03-23-2005, 08:20 PM
:word:

Sounds like a prefab bandpass like they sell at best buy, which is totally worthless.

Bandpass boxes need to be totally custom designed.

InhumanAcura
03-23-2005, 08:21 PM
um to be honest with u.......your best bet is to throw away that box......from the desription of that box i knew right away its a pre-fab...and it will not sound good even if u put a 500dollar 10inch speaker in there.....why dont u just get a bandpass box custom build to the speakers specs and then we can talk about tuning


80

hey man, you seem to know a bit about these things...can you possibly send me a link on where i can learn more about tuning them?

Nismo1
03-23-2005, 08:21 PM
ok who wants to help

squeak9798
03-23-2005, 08:23 PM
hey man, you seem to know a bit about these things...can you possibly send me a link on where i can learn more about tuning them?

http://www.diysubwoofers.org/bnd/4thorder.htm

Nismo1
03-23-2005, 08:27 PM
the subs i have call for .65 to .85 cu.ft in a sealed box and 1.75 cu.ft in a vented box. 2 round ports with the diam of 3".to make it easy they are the visonik s4 subs.nothing special but the can work for now. i need a good box that will work for lows.http://www.visonikcaraudio.com/sub/products/subwoofers_4.html

Nismo1
03-23-2005, 08:36 PM
anyone wanna build me a bandpass?

80INCHES
03-23-2005, 08:37 PM
http://www.diysubwoofers.org/bnd/4thorder.htm


um InhumanAcura :iagree: he beat me to it

80

80INCHES
03-23-2005, 08:39 PM
i'll suggest a design and u have 2 get someone 2 build it
just let me know what car its going in and how much power u plan on using

80

InhumanAcura
03-23-2005, 08:40 PM
http://www.diysubwoofers.org/bnd/4thorder.htm

thanks mr moderator sir :D

JimJ
03-23-2005, 08:41 PM
http://www.decware.com/newsite/mainmenu.htm

Some designs on there to mess around with...

Nismo1
03-23-2005, 08:47 PM
well its going in a 91 sentra ill be pushing 250rms to each sub 500 rms total

80INCHES
03-23-2005, 09:39 PM
here u go

Bandpass Prism Box Parts
1 Top, 1 Bottom: 33 x 13 in

1 Front, 1 Back: 11.5 x 13 in

3 Sides: 11.5 x 31.5
Baffle Location: 7 (mount speakers on this baffle)x 3.75 in

Vent Parts
4 inch round port 8inches long tuned @45hz...if u want it tuned lower get a long 4inch pvc pipe and the longest u can make the port is 28inches and the tuning freq. and that lenght is 29.9hz....so its up 2 ..

the subs will be in a common chamber of 1.4cuft(the port will be in this chamber)
and the sealed will be .727cuft


80
and questions throw them at me

Nismo1
03-23-2005, 09:59 PM
Is there any plexy glass ?also what way are the subs facing?Do you have a pic of a box that is like the one you described?

Nismo1
03-24-2005, 02:11 AM
Turns out that my box is made by Digital Audio.

JimJ
03-24-2005, 03:46 AM
I still wouldn't use it. Pre-fab BP boxes are nothing but trouble.